Khao Soi Doa - Call of the Mountains - Chanthaburi, Thailand - Part 1

in #thailand6 years ago

Now I was faced with a choice, I had delivered the Stand Up Paddle board to Steve, checked out his very cool artwork and had a paddle adventure. I could stay another night and explore more great beaches in Laem Sing, but what I really wanted to do next, was see some big ass trees. The mountains were calling me.

callofthemountains.jpg
It was time to leave the beaches and go to the source of that mighty river that we paddled across on our SUP boards.
The highest of the mountains in Chanthaburi was only another 100kms inland. I could easily be set up there before dark.

khao soidao.jpg
I saw glimpses of the mountains and may caught a few rain squalls blowing down the valleys on the approach, then, there she was looming before me draped in mist.

supcar.jpg
Thats my pick-up truck, the ole Toyota Vigo with one of my SUP stand up paddle boards on the racks.

grasseller.jpg
I did not know it was legal to sell grass in Thailand :)

crosselephants.jpg
Sign warning to watch out for cross elephants :)

tentbirth.jpg
I arrived to find the Khao Soi Dao National park almost deserted, It is all functional with clean toilets and showers and simple thai style restaurant with basic supplies. I rented a tent for 250THB, (about 8USD) and put it up under this "Sala". where there two roofs almost come together, you can see foliage growing the puddle of water beneath forced me to move the tent from the centre.

I ate some pad grapow, (mince pork with basil leaf on a little rice)in the restaurant, finished of the cooked beef I had brought from home and watched a movie until my battery died. I don't normally eat plants, but I am on holiday and wanted to give them some trade. It started to rain on nightfall, and kept raining all night. I could hear thunder echoing as it rebounded between invisible peaks. Lightning flashed and rain bounced of the concrete slab into the opening of my tent, but not too bad. I felt exhilarated to be there and even though the grass mat was thin and the concrete beneath, unforgiving, I managed to get a little sleep.

web.jpg
I heard that the boom gate blocking access to the road that leads to the waterfall walk would open at 830am, it was not open yet so had a wonder around the visitor centre. There were stuffed animals in there, but the displays, though lovingly made were in bad need of maintenance. I did learn that these ranges were home to bison, a variety of antelope, elephants, monkeys and birds with enormous colourful beaks.

spider.jpg
This spider was as big as my hand, I kid you not. I saw many more of these during my walk. I wonder if they like to catch insects in the sunlight as they often stretched their webs across the path or other open areas in the jungle. I had to go off the path to avoid damaging the huge webs. They are highly visible and I wondered why birds or animals did not eat them right away. Like many venomous creatures, rather than hiding, their bright colours warn other predators to not to eat them, those that do, probably do not get to pass on their foolish genes.

bridgenowhere.jpg
While waiting for the boom gate to open so that I could drive the 3km to the start of the waterfall walk, I came across this tantalising bridge. It promised Indiana Jones level adventure and I could not resist. The bridge was missing a few slats and unfortunately the path on the other side was totally overgrown, I did not want to get lost, there was no phone signal. So much for Mr. Jones.. 9.00am and still the gate is not open. I pack my electronics into plastic bags and load my backpack. I will walk the 3km to the beginning of my trek.

to be continued...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97