You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rant of the Week: Road Safety in Thailand

in #thailand6 years ago

Maybe in extreme situations that could be the case, but mostly the people I am referring to already have a helmet and it is sitting in the basket of their motorbike they are currently driving but they just don't put it on. I have lived here for a long time... i'm not just making an observation from afar and trying to call people from another country dumb.

However, if someone has the money to purchase a $1500 motorbike and then doesn't have the money to buy a $10 helmet.... I have a hard time relating.

Sort:  
 Maybe in extreme situations that could be the case, but mostly the people I am referring to already have a helmet and it is sitting in the basket of their motorbike they are currently driving but they just don't put it on. I have lived here for a long time... i'm not just making an observation from afar and trying to call people from another country dumb.However, if someone has the money to purchase a $1500 motorbike and then doesn't have the money to buy a $10 helmet.... I have a hard time relating. 

Sorry to put me in this conversation, but yes, so hard to see that it is true. What if you bought the bicycle at a super cheap price with sacrifice and effort and comes with the helmet included, it turns out that the helmet is lost and you do not have money to buy another helmet since the inflation is high and you prefer to spend on the food myself I follow this family because in my country we live like this, I have a car but I do not have money to pay for maintenance because in my country hyperflation reigns.

someone else commented about how they don't like the government telling people what they have to do and I completely agree with him / her and I recognize that what you are saying is also a real thing and I agree with you in that situation. No one should be penalized for being poor... It's like that idiot PM in the U.K. that suggested that people living on the streets should pay a fine for being homeless.

I don't want to force anyone to wear a helmet or a seatbelt. I guess I just don't know why a population that realizes they are in a very dangerous situation on some of the most dangerous roads in the world and also almost certainly know at least one person who has died in that exact situation.... would actively choose to not wear the one thing that can keep their head on their bodies.

I wear mine and encourage my friends (and my staff in the past when i had them) to always wear theirs. I guess that's the best I can hope for

 someone else commented about how they don't like the government telling people what they have to do and I completely agree with him / her and I recognize that what you are saying is also a real thing and I agree with you in that situation. No one should be penalized for being poor... It's like that idiot PM in the U.K. that suggested that people living on the streets should pay a fine for being homeless.I don't want to force anyone to wear a helmet or a seatbelt. I guess I just don't know why a population that realizes they are in a very dangerous situation on some of the most dangerous roads in the world and also almost certainly know at least one person who has died in that exact situation.... would actively choose to not wear the one thing that can keep their head on their bodies.I wear mine and encourage my friends (and my staff in the past when i had them) to always wear theirs. I guess that's the best I can hope for.

I agree with you my friend. Your publication is very good, I look forward to your new publications. regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75