You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Institutional Racism in Thailand: Part 3

in #thailand6 years ago (edited)

There are a lot of advantages to being fluent in both English and Thai (In Thailand) because obviously you are eligible for much higher positions in companies, particularly in tourism.

It is ofcourse a added advantage in job search. I wish I could speak more languages fluently.

But what is she doing to her child? She is teaching her child that India people are somehow lower than they are. Kids emulate what their parents do and thus the cycle will continue.

A kid can not actually differentiate what is right from wrong. They pick up what the older people do or have made them to believe.

Racism is not cool. It is right time to sensitize the world against this. I am black and I really do not need to be reminded of that by anyone who is not.

We all have our different paths to thread and our origins do not need to hinder us from maximizing our potential.

I really haven’t been in a situation of racism but I usuall try to imagine it.

My brother happens to be one of the few black men in his community in Nebraska. Thing is, when any strange thing happens around in the vicinity, such as burglary. Himself and the other men are usually the first to be questioned about it. Why is that? This is because they probably see them as the people that can do such things. Like they are less humans than them.

Such thing will only be passed down to the younger generation because that is what they see happening,

Sort:  

your brother lives in Nebraska? Small world. I spent a lot of my childhood there.

Wow! What a small world.
Yes he has been in Nebraska for about 5 years now. He keeps gusting me about how cool and calm it is in Nebraska. I really long to visit him soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87