I just wanted to say thank yousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thanks4 years ago

I know all of the 'tutorials' say to only write 'useful' things and all that, but frankly, my page says blog so... wah. I wanted to say thank you. I have only been here for 2 days, and had never previously heard of Steem, nor did I know ANYThing about cryptocurrencies - I'd heard some terms thrown around and had an exTREMEly basic understanding but.... Basically I gave myself a crash course (tbh, I still dont actually have a clue wtf I'm doing) and uploaded some music to get my feet wet, and You guys have been so incredibly awesome and supportive. Thank you SO much for being so lovely.

My plan is to keep recording throughout 2020. I have a LOT of songs that I want to mashup or write, and I'll be sure to share them here. Actually... I just recorded a song for my dad's birthday.... I suppose I should let you guys in on it, hey. Yea, I'll do that. Keep an eye out for some new stuff.

Also, leave a comment and let me know what song's you'd LIKE to hear me do! I love getting suggestions ^_^

Thank you again, and stay tuned


Currently Available Albums:

Also be sure to check me out on:

Sort:  

Happy you found Steem, there can definitely be a steep learning curve but just ask if you have questions :) I didn't want to overload you in first interaction, but I have a few more tips/suggestions for ya.

  • You can earn different crypto tokens on top of your Steem earnings if you use certain tags. Relevant to you are #creativecoin tag for any creative type posting and #sonicgroove for music. Posts that you tag with those tags can earn CCC (Creative Coin Crypto) and SONIC tokens if your post is upvoted by someone who holds those tokens. As an example, I am a large stakeholder of #creativecoin and the upvote I give with my account is actually worth many times more in Creative Coin than it is in Steem (in terms of dollar value).
  • These extra crypto tokens run on a "side chain" of the Steem blockchain. Anyone with a Steem username already has a wallet at https://steem-engine.com/ , and you use your same Steem key credentials to log in. You can trade the tokens you earn against Steem on the internal exchange at the steem engine website.

One last thing - you have a twitter account so I should tell you about an initiative being run by @ocd, one of the largest curation groups on the platform. They are running a share Steem posts to Twitter thing: use the #posh (Proof Of SHare) tag on your Steem posting, then share the link to your Steem post on Twitter. Comment back on your Steem post with the link to your Tweet - the OCD curation group is going through all posts tagged with #POSH and verifying that the post was actually shared on Twitter, then they will likely give you a large upvote

OK I will pause there for now LOL

Welcome to Steem!

Holy gee wow. Thank you this is a lot of really good information (also note that I start saying stupid things like "holy gee wow" when overwhelmed and/or tired. They heavier the combination of the two, the more ridiculous my wording).

I actually DO have a question. So, I Thought I could join D.Tube with a D.Tube account OR with my Steem login, that I didnt need both. So I logged into DT with my Steem login, and uploaded these videos and thought everything was fine. However, yesterday I tried to subscribe to another (really awesome) musician, and it took me to a d.tube login page. If I tried to login with Steem it kicked me saying I was already logged in, but still wouldnt let me subscribe, and all my upvotes were rated 0%. SO I tried to create a Steem account - put in my email and such, and clicked next. Then clicked I am not a Robot and clicked Send Email and got an error message. So yea. Can't subscribe, cant upvote, cant change my profile information, cant join.... Seems I can only upload. What's up with that? Any thoughts? Do I need to use a different key or something? Some of the buttons I push give ZERo reaction whatsoever (like when I tried to edit my profile. the submit button just blinked at me and rolled its eyes).

Is it something I said?

I gotta admit that I stopped using dtube before they started running on their own chain, I honestly don't know the answer to those questions. I would suggest trying the help channel in the dtube discord: https://discord.gg/dtube

One other just kinda general tip would be, it isn't best practice to upload tons of posts on one day on Steem. Posts only stay in payout for one week after upload, and most of the large stakeholders who can give big votes either have an official or unofficial policy against upvoting multiple posts from the same user in the same day. Better to spread your content out. Obviously a bit too late for the whole christmas album you uploaded, but I wanted to mention it for the future.

EDIT btw have you seen this thread? https://steempeak.com/busy/@acidyo/perspective This is about the question you asked about Steem on Reddit - it might be nice for you to poke your head in there and share your own perspective on that exchange :)

Cheers

Holy Moses this thing is a rabbit hole, haha! There are like a zillion platforms all going off at the same time? I guess?? How... ok... how do I even... K, I have to learn how to organize this thing.

Also, I see what you're saying about not uploading too much in one day, but someone else, maybe @acidyo was talking about 500SP giving you the ability to make multiple posts and replies? Is that ... what's the pro/con list for 1 post per day vs. 3 a day or something, especially if it's original content (aka, I had another thought I kinda wanted to post. Sure I could do it tomorrow, still relevant, but it was cute n short?)?

Thank you, again - I'm pretty sure this huge welcome mat I've discovered was laid out by you....

well there certainly isn't any kind of hard rule against posting multiple times per day, particularly if they are more "post what you are thinking about" kinda posts - I guess it kinda depends what your goals are, but if maximizing your chance to make $ is one of your goals, I would recommend at least a day between "big ticket" type posts like quality original songs.

OK the 500 steem power thing is really mostly only a big milestone if you are using the website steemit.com (which I don't recommend). On steemit.com until you have 500 SP you can only cast 100% strength upvotes, while after you get to 500 SP you can cast variable % strength upvotes. Most other Steem websites let you cast variable strength upvotes no matter how much SP you have. I personally would recommend steempeak.com as far as a website interface for steem blockchain.

RE 500 Sp allowing you to post/comment multiple times, someone might also have been referring to "resource credits" - which is basically bandwidth for Steem. The more Steem Power (SP) you have, the more resource credits you have. If you have only have a tiny amount of SP you might actually run out of resource credits (bandwidth) and no longer be able to post, comment or upvote until some of your resource credits recharge. You already have enough SP that you should be able to post/comment/upvote pretty normally though.

Hm... Okay, I think I'm following...

More questions ^_^

What's the benefit of using Steempeaks over Busy.org?

WTF is up with DLive? I'd love to move at least part of my streaming to a blockchain, but I'm a lil salty about their move from Steem to Lino (and Im NEW! Cant imagine how everyone else feels). Is it worth using them you think? Is there another live Steem option yet?

Okay, the SP depleting/replenishing... you mean like... I post, it cost me SP, but people upvote which GIves me SP? So... I shouldnt REALLY worry about it, unlike I like, drunk-upvote or something and deplete my SP?

Also, SHOULD I be giving people LESS than 100% of .001 right now? What's the... purpose of splitting it? And is there any point to trying to get to 500SP then, other than graduating to Minnow just for the sake of it? Point of pride or whatever? I mean, it also gives me more influence n all that, no?

Thank you, again, sincerely. You are absolutely facilitating my learning curve.

Okay, I'm starting to wade through these comments now... I went back and added these tags to everything (is that what I'm sposed to do?) and now I'm going to check out steem-engine and ocd.

Not gonna lie. Confused. Challenge accepted. Also, it's 4:30am... so yea.

Also, Twitter confuses the stuffing out of me for some reason... but I suppose Imma have to sort at least some of it out now....

Also, does all this mean that I have to use specific tags for people with those currencies to support? Or can someone with pizza coins randomly throw some at me? Like, do I need to use ALL of the music tags just in case? hehe... This is all doin my head in.

THERE ARE SO MANY TOKENS!!!

MORE questions @carlgnash and @acidyo ^_^ Thanks for you patience btw.

So... I'm investigating Steem Keychain... and @haejin suggested (https://steemit.com/steem/@yabapmatt/hate-putting-private-keys-into-websites-introducing-steem-keychain) that it may be a good idea to create new keys to use with the keychain?

Should I do that?

Uh... how... do I do that...? (Dont worry, I'll ALSO google it while awaiting your responses with baited breath)

Would I need to change ALL keys, master on down?

Sigh. I should... probably sleep or something...

Also (will google) is Keychain still only available for Chrome? My computer has asthma and sometimes Safari is faster than Chrome... NBD, I can shit things around but, curious. Also... I guess since we're already here... Chrome vs. Firefox vs. Safari? Is there any like, should-be-obvious reason why I should use one over the other? I'll admit... I get a little salty about google sticking their fingers in everything and often want to diversify just for the sake of it - maybe I don't understand it fully and it's actually the safest/most encrypted option? Or something? I get a little squirly about saving passwords with them. And if it hadn't been built and adopted by/for so many Steem platforms, I probably would trust Keychain either, just cause it's a Chrome extension. Again, I know NOTHING and am making completely unbased emotional judgements at the moment. So yea. Question mark?

Haejin... LOL ... don't go down that particular rabbit hole if I can offer you a suggestion. Leaving him aside for now.

Yeah steem keychain is great if you can run a browser it is compatible with, it basically works like using your Google or Facebook account to log in to multiple different websites. Keychain is now available on Chrome, Brave and Firefox browsers. Firefox is pretty good as far as privacy related concerns if that is an issue with you - links for keychain for those browsers: https://developers.steem.io/resources/steem_keychain

Basically the nice thing about Steem Keychain is you only have to load your private and active keys up into keychain once, and then from there on out you can use keychain to log in to all these different Steem based platforms. Keychain allows you to set a normal human readable type password, and encrypts your Steem keys themselves in the browser extension so they are not in danger.

IRL I am just about to leave for a two week Christmas vacation, and am going to be mostly away from internet (gasp!) starting in a couple hours. For general Steem newbie type questions (and I am sure you will have a LOT - I was not kidding when I said there was a learning curve! THere is a lot going on here!) I would recommend joining the Steem Terminal discord. it is a server to help Steem newbs out and the folks who run it are super helpful: https://discord.gg/FDPzdMy

Cheers and merry Christmas!

Hm.... okay. Thank you for your reply. I got Keychain for Chrome, but the only place that asked me if I wanted to use it to log in was... uh...shucks I dont remember now. I think I stared at this screen too long yesterday. But yea, I could only figure out how to USE it on One site. Everywhere else still asks me to use my keys. I suppose I could do a test to log out n log back in? More research needed. I still don't "get" keychain. Also, I thought it would show me ALL of my currencies? No?

Oh hooray!! Vacation!! Yes, go, be free... I'll figure this stuff out, but I sincerely appreciate all of your help and suggestions. They've helped piece together a lot more of the map a lot faster than I would have on my own. Thanks for the Discord link!

Merry Christmas ^_^

Thanks for the Firefox link. I'll look into it.

Is there any way I can save this comment (like on Reddit)? Because it might be helpful for latter :) Can't wait to learn more about steem :D

Not really any way to save or pin a comment but feel free to ask if you have any questions :)

Thank you :) I do have some questions (or more broadly, subjects I want to explore), but I'll address that on my incoming introductory post ;)

Congratulations @dandann! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.87
ETH 3515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12