My Steemit Tale

in #the-steemit-tale6 years ago (edited)

difference-between-being-good-and-being-great-at-content-writing.jpg

******On Completion of a Month: finally, I am a month old****.**

Dear Friends,

Today I would like to share a post about how I found steemit and what are the lessons I learned in this one month. I am pretty much sure many of you could relate to my story. If your story is similar then do mention in the comments; also would love to hear what are your experiences. So without much delay here I am.

How Did I Discover Steemit?

For a couple of years, I have been preparing for competitive exams, which requires long hours of studying. Lately, I felt too confined mentally owing to such a mundane study schedule; when I mentioned it to a friend she advised me to take some work from homework to creatively engage myself. The idea seemed quite appealing and I took it seriously. Thus begin my hunt for such work. By virtue of being a research student and history student, content writing seemed an easy way out. I applied for several online internships for content writing; luckily within a couple of days I was hired by someone to work on the blockchain. I had read a lot about blockchain recently and was polishing my knowledge. I took the offer as it seemed relevant to the current economic debate.

When I had asked my employer where would my content be published; the answer was a link of one of the crypto-ico-review channel on steemit.com. Unaware of this platform I assumed it as a blockchain website and started to write. It was a paid internship and I received remuneration per article. After a couple of weeks I realized that it was an open platform; so I started to read about it. The google articles were not that convincing to hop onto this platform but the steemit FAQs were very persuasive.

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 10.15.53 AM.png

My Skepticism

It really amuses me that my first thought was that steemit must be a paid blogging site where one has to pay for creating their channel. So I googled it and found that its free!!! My second thought was it must be a fraud as never heard of such an idea where you get paid for your post, but a lot of reading helped to evade a portion of this doubt but I was still unsure. Then I thought maybe there are no Indians on it must be a foreign site; again read few Indian steemians blog. I had a personal fear that hopefully not indulging in a something illegal. My rational analysis made me realize that I should at least make an account and then figure it out. So I registered, I was doubtful of it getting approved as I had reserved doubts about how it works. Once my account was approved I was scared to post. The FAQs had something about introduce yourself post; it took me a day to actually think about it and then post. I was so unsure that I did not want to put any picture but later realizing that this might have caused my post less attention.

My first post, I wrongly tagged it and that is how I must have missed some attention but the second post was a pull as I made some SBDs . The platform seemed genuine but I could not find a strong Indian community. I kept hunting for Indians so that I feel accompanied in this sea. I learned what a minnow, dolphin, and whale are. The platform has a lot going on it and I learned something every day. It took me a week to realize that the platform needs through research and understanding. Most of the newbies have no clue; I login into steemit.chat on my second week while discord is a recent discovery. I devote every day some time to just research and read about steemit. This has helped me a lot I learn every day something new. A few of steemit friends are here for few months and still unaware of many of the aspects of steemit. steemit is just a bit of a larger steem ecosystem. Would recommend everyone to do some research.
Fotolia_96430944_Subscription_Monthly_M_2-480x320.jpg

Why I Like Steemit

Steemit is a unique platform to promote your thoughts. One of the most important features is here you can write under a pen-name; so just reveal your mind, be liked impartially. As a content writer, I think it is the best way to have a channel of your own and be profitable. I am a hesitant writer; platform like steemit helps you get that validation where self-doubt can be overcome. It is an easier way to earn by being in one’s comfort zone. One can write about anything and yet receive an audience for it. All these perks are absent with the existing blogging sites. I get to read about all kinds of themes and it is a way to learn. In this one month surely my knowledge of crypto-currencies was enhanced so is my inclination towards self-reflection, politics, fashion, and art. The Art tag has some beautiful creation to get inspired from. Photography is one realm where now a thing of beauty can be captured and shared.

Challenge.arrow_.jpg
My Steemit Challenges
• The biggest challenge for me is networking. I have stayed away from social networking for a very long time. The reasons being a tight study schedule and personal aversion towards social networking sites like Facebook and Instagram. So I am a content writer but not a networker; that is costing me a lot as I lack dedicated follower.

• The second challenge is of course lack of a following; even if my post makes it to trending pages upvote number is low. So most of my hard-worked content goes unnoticed.

• The third challenge is lack of a strong interconnected Indian community on the platform. There are a few hundred Indians but the networking is poor and there are no minnow promotional Indian Channels. There is no discord India channel and the steemit.chat has a dead chat group. I think most Indian minnows face the same issue that no encouragement from the Indian community. I received some help from minnowsupport PAL net and a good promotional upvote from @s4s; who is currently an Indian messiah on steemit.

• The fourth and biggest challenge is the addiction. This is my sob story I have deliberately stayed away from every social networking site as they acted as an impediment to my studies owing to their distractive nature. I board onto steemit thinking it is all about content creation but it is way more than that. I find it hard to balance my studies and steemit. Even when I fix a few hours for it most of the time I surpass my time limits. Steemit is super addictive and I joined at a time when SBD is skyrocketing so it has become too hard now to abandon it.

The Steemit Potential

I see great potential for this platform; I know there are so many content writers who sell their articles with low pay and no author recognition; I think this is like a blessing for them; for being recognized, and paid. Work from home opportunities are lesser; steemit makes it easier to earn especially for women who most of the time could not keep up with the work due to a plethora of reasons. Networking is another kudos aspect of it.

Maybe in a bleak future with unemployment, automation, closed societies steemit proves to be boon for many. It might emerge as an alternative source of income helping the current and future economic scenario.

My Steemit Mantra
Keep writing good content and explore the platform, you will be found and achieve success certainly. Patience is the key, I write with this hope.

Would love to hear fellow steemians' view on this?

With this post, I am adding a new tag ‘the-steemit-tale’ where you can share your experiences.

Thank you for reading.

Please comment, upvote and follow.

Image source:-https://www.catholic.com
https://developmentfrominside.org
https://edkentmedia.com

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-12-19-17

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thank you for the selection.

You seem to be fully committed to Steemit and have learnt a lot about it in such short time. Keep the momentum going...

thank you friend, i hope you will write in this new tag.

This definitely is the tale for most of us. Reached steemit with half knowledge only to learn and grow everyday.

Yes we all do. Would love to hear your experiences in this new tag.

Very interesting story.
I was introduced on steemit by a youtube video, the man only wanted buying steems but he doesn't explained what is about it... then I started to learn about this crypto. At the beginning I didn't give a penny for it, but now I realize that is one of the best cryptocurrencies!! I like it very much.

Yes friend the tales of steemit discovery is like an endless journal. Thank you for sharing it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rainsa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 1.03 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @rainsa. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Lovely Read! Just started steemit a couple of hours back, reassuring to hear from the Indian Art point of view. Couldn't understand about minnows or a lot about the comments below. Which means got a lot of reading to do, Thanks!

Welcome friend. Yes you should, new users are like lost in sea. But there are many to help. Read FAQs that will help.

Good one. Glad to have discovered you, following you now!

Thank you friend for the kind words.

deliberately stayed away from every social networking site as they acted as an impediment to my studies owing to their distractive nature

That sounds like the latest trail of accusations against certain social network born in a hostel room :)

Haha thats true friend. But seems like a defendable accusation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41