Mini Challenge #2 : Photo Editing Software (29th of July, 2020).

in #the1000daysofsteem4 years ago

People who know me are also aware that I like to make lots of insect, nature, food and travel pictures (even if recently I hadn't much time to put them into posts). For that purpose I use the camera of my mobile phone, Huawei Mate 20 Pro.
To select (and sometimes slightly edit) the photos I use my Linux laptop, and there mostly three pieces of software:


GIMP


GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) is my main choice when editing photos and available for Linux, Microsoft Windows and mac OS. It offers a rich variety of functions, however, most of the time I am using it only to cut out unimportant parts of an image or insert some colours, text, arrows and other symbols.

Even if in the screenshot below it looks very simple, GIMP is a rather complex software.


Krita


I like the look and feel of Krita which is also available for Linux, Microsoft Windows and mac OS. I can say for sure that in some (but of course not all) aspects it's even superior compared to GIMP. Below you can see how it looks like:


Pix


Finally Pix is very easy to use and fast when I want to open many pictures at the same time, for example to compare them with each other, or execute simple operations like rotating an image.


I can recommend these three porgrams which are all available in several languages (including German). GIMP has the greatest diversity of features, while pix is mainly a very fast and easy to use image browser and viewer.

P.S.: As soon as I find enough time I will post all these stag beetle images which you can see here already in the Pix screenshot. :-)

Sort:  

Vielen Dank für den Überblick. GIMP kannte ich, die anderen Zwei noch nicht.

GIMP is a feature-rich free photo editing software but I have no experience of using it @jaki01 so augmenting a photo for me is just limited to simple brightening, sharpening, lighting, cropping, and things like that. :)

I have a experienced to use photo editing software. Great work @jaki01 keep it up.

I've licensed Adobe Creative Cloud (Photoshop and Lightroom) for many years but I enjoy GIMP now and then. There are some things that could be done only on it. For instance Fourier Transform (I needed that to remove the hexagonal background of a scanned analogue photo on an old photo-paper). This function runs on Photoshop but only for very small sizes. For the original 24MPix RAW photo I needed GIMP.
I will definitely check out the other two recommendations :)

By the way, if there were native Linux version of Lightroom and Photoshop, I would've switched to Linux long time ago... Some aspects of Windows 10 are simply annoying :D

Interesting comment! :)

Thanks :)

Thanks to @jasuly for burning 1000 CT! You have been rewarded with a 100% vote. Your action makes this project grow and helps to restore a Clean Planet! Join us on our Discord Channel and on our website

Hello @jaki01 i know you like this type of art that's i invite you welcome to blog.
sdfadsf.jpg

Congratulations @theshaki, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jaki01!
@jaki01 will receive 1.27364850 TRDO & @theshaki will get 0.84909900 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @goldcoin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jaki01!
@jaki01 will receive 2.92821600 TRDO & @goldcoin will get 1.95214400 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I like GIMP and do almost everything with it. Pix and Krita are new to me. I appreciate your review and will have a look on them too.

Nice to read that my post was of interest for you! :)

Congratulations @jaki01, your post successfully recieved 4.2018645 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@theshaki earned : 0.849099 TRDO curation
@goldcoin earned : 1.952144 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87