The Token is a Unit of Measurement

Me warming up - totally fine if you skip.

There's a piece that I have been drafting for donkeys now and I am sick of waiting. So, I decided to start sharing it in pieces.

While designing my pet project these days - an innovation platform called TINC - I found myself grappling with the very basic question of what is a token?
[I say I, but I am not alone in this project. I work with the wonderful and very interesting Anna Blekhman.]

This leads to the question:

What is money? Also, what is a Token?

I'm gonna keep it short:

You'd think I would start with money - but I will start with Tokens - I think they represent a more general case.

A token is two things:

  1. It is a unit of measurement
  2. It is used to facilitate transactions

In "Transactions" I mean a very general application of this concept. Of course, buying something is a transaction, However, communication, e.g., a conversation between two people, can be a transaction in the sense that people are exchanging something (information for example).

Money - in the modern sense of currency - coins, bills and digital (numbers that represent money) - is a specific type of token:

  1. Unit of measurement - It is a measure of buying and payment power
  2. Transaction facilitation - It is something that you Give, Get or Hold.

Think of money like this: It is a receptacle of value that can move in space or in time.

So?

Well,

  1. I'd like to hear what you think...
  2. If you are thinking about a token - because you are planning an ICO or TGE or because you are planning to buy one - I suggest you ask yourself: What does this token measure? What transactions does it facilitate? How?

I think, if you answer the second question, you will have a far better grasp of whether or not an ICO/TGE is a good idea or if it is well executed.

Told you I’d keep it short.

Shahar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71