Step 1 Urban farm... Grow the food!

in #thealliance6 years ago

Growing The Food

IMG_20180605_090649.jpg

Here is a picture of what mornings looks like these days!

Coffee + Garden


     BLISS 

We have 3 beds... Well 2.5 I haven't fully completed the third yet. Since it's getting late in the season we will likely pick up some more plants from the farmers market.

Other than a tomato, a cucumber & a pepper plant we have grown everything from a free seed bank at our local library. Using the rain barrel for watering help cut expenses as well.

So far we have:

Squash
Edamame
Turnips
Swiss Chard
Lots of Tomatoes
Melon
cucumber
Lavender
Mint
Basil
Capsicum
Sunflowers
Merigolds
Xenias

IMG_20180607_131940.jpg

IMG_20180607_131958.jpg

Can't wait to see some flowers and some fruit!

Who else is gardening? What are you growing?

Sort:  

Wow nice work!

I built a big garden box this year as well to have something to work on as a family and have the yard produce.

IMG_0005.JPG

We went with Tomatoes, Chili, jalapeno, Sweet green, and sweet orange peppers, sugar snap peas, green beans, cucumbers and a few corn stalks for fun.

So awesome and I love your morning shot.

Thanks! Excellent set up! Love how you did the irrigation, I've yet to get clever about it. Also watering it closely also helps me keep an eye on it.

The height it great too, We need to get some fencing up so the neighborhood rabbits don't decide to feast before we do!

You guys are going to have a great amount of variety.

Yah my wife says that there is too much variety but I want that thing to be overflowing with produce and it is an experiment to see what works best and then we plan 1.1 next summer.

The irrigation came from a tool shed cleanout and I HATE throwing plastic/rubber in landfill so I just repurposed the old unused hoses. Pretty funny.

We have LOADS of rabbits around which is why I made the walls so high, and lined the whole bottom with chicken wire.

Love your blog and I am looking forward to keeping up on your progress and sharing stories.

Wow great enginuity! For now....I brush the dog all around the garden so the mulch has a lovely scent of danger before they get too close. You will have great items to quick pickle & plenty of snackage with hummus! Can't wait to see your first harvest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84