7 Day Positivity Challenge - Day 6 - Sacrifice

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)

7 Days of Good Stuff

This challenge was started by @conradt, and I was nominated by @snowpea in on her 5th day. The purpose of this challenge is to spread around some positivity here on Steemit, and you know me, I never back down from a challenge! Well, almost never LOL!

Happiness

In all my years of parenting, I find that a child's happiness comes fairly easy. Be it going for a simple walk, finding the beauty in a butterfly or beetle, or even watching an earthworm creep it's way back down into the soil. I have come to believe that it's not really got anything to do with the activity itself, though, they do grow into preferences. What I feel most strongly about, is that it is the time spent, that makes all the difference to the child.

Time


The only way I know how to tell you
without going into the boring details of my life,
because this is after all, not about me,
Is through my second greatest escape,
where a mind can truly be free.
And now you start to see,
what it is I have given.
What do you need to write a book
besides some persistence?
You don’t need much assistance,
just a precious commodity
The one that matters most,
the one that commonly
Gets taken for granted
Not taken advantage
My greatest sacrifice
May seem hard
if you don’t understand it
The most valuable thing
one can ever bestow
Is the time, yes the time,
to nurture and watch your seeds grow
I guess it started when I met a certain lady
Love was the emotion, along came a baby
She could barely stand the crying,
let alone change a diaper
And so I decided
to be the one that 'gave my life u'p
In this folly of love
I honored what she dreamed
Though the more she progressed,
the less we were at the scene
Eventually, after a short marriage
I was the only one pushing the baby carriage
Got my mind back, cleaned up my act
Realized I had to be more than just a dad
Started first with a great accounting position
Had a great little girl to help out with the mission
But I was missing something,
even though the money was great
I got home (if I was lucky)
in time to see them cleaning their plates
That wasn’t a life, so I ditched the money
Lost the fine woman so I looked for some honey
Ended up engaged in Utah,
where I could spend every minute
With my little loved ones
and I felt this is how you win it
This is life, we had found happiness for sure
But the female was a phony, and not the cure
So for the last few years
it’s been just me and the boys
We have no finer things
no spectacular toys
I’ve been bouncing around between peon jobs
Just so I can enjoy everything that goes on
Yea we’re poor,
if you look at it from a monetary point of view
But I guarantee in life’s true treasure
we are richer than any of you
Minimum wage pays most of the bills
And sure I’d love to have more money than my fill
But what is it that gets traded to earn that paycheck
What do you sacrifice what do they get instead
The one thing I have given my children,
despite anyone’s request
Is by far the one thing I’m sure
they absolutely love the best
These children, you see, I cannot deny
The greatest gift of all…that being my
TIME

Sacrifice

I wrote that almost 15 years ago when I was a single father raising my boys. Time truly is the sacrifice and is a finite gift. Once gone, you can never regain the moment. I see now, with my Princesses, it is the same story to some extent. The past few days, I have been quite ill, yet still, managed to put forth enough effort (I hope) into their life.
I even crept my feverish body into the pool, where the water seemed like ice, just to appease the Crown Princess and her plea to not swim alone.

Take Advantage

I've learned to live life with no regrets, despite having to keep secrets from some people. That is my choice. Only living once (to some cultures) means that you must find your happiness. One of the things that makes me happy, is seeing smiles on my children's faces. Giving them good memories and passing on knowledge through fun experiences hopefully will leave a positive impact on their lives and when it's my time to go, I hope they think well of me. So, take advantage of any time you can spare. You never know when or if you'll have the same chance again to seize an opportunity to make someone happy.

Your Turn:

  • Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #sevendaypositivity (can try 7daypositivitychallenge but Steemit doesn't like numbers) and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible).
  • I nominate @roykie17, @platosgroove & @aussieninja


    CLICK HERE TO VOTE ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESSES BATMAN


    DQmYGeUdDTwuzUBDxvDdiAPxzbpA5i36RH4vzQiENpNA3k4.gif
    @snook made this badass gif
    @enginewitty #thealliance witness.png
Sort:  

That one hit my heart. Devoted parents make so many sacrifices, but you're right, time is the most precious thing we can give. Our attention, our presence, our love. 💖

So true sweets, I know a lot of kids that have tvs and other tech as permanent sitters.

The children have the finest things anyone can hope for in life: time with a parent or guardian that appreciates the importance of it.

The young speaker in your poem, talks about the deep importance of time, the aspects that may go by without attention being paid to them. He discovers how to value it and ponders over the best ways to spend it. He is growing in awareness of the why and how he came to make those choices. The poem can be of great benefit to many people, in no small way to people about to face the same kinds of choices. It has a very positive impact.

Seeing your children with happy faces is reward enough for your loving parenting. 😊 💕

Thank you sweets, I agree!

Thanks @enginewitty for sharing. Yes, I agree it's such a great thing and thrill to have that part in making a child smile :)

Nothing like it man. Different kind of pride.

You have been defended with a 67.12% upvote!
I was summoned by @enginewitty.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

I can become happy just by looking at at your pictures.💛

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This is so touching. I wasn't mistaken when I said you're a great dad.🙌

Sorry about your health, and to imagine you had to swim along because one of the Princesses wants it, that's teaching me to prepare to be not just a father tomorrow, but also a Dad

Thanks bro, I am getting a little better now :)

And very true, any guy can be a father, takes a real man to be an actual Dad :)

Great post!!! What's your secret??

I'll never tell lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99