#witnessthis - Because ... Reasons

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)


Ya Savvy?

Did We Crash It?

Yes, in a manner of speaking. Everyone went through their withdrawals this week as some account that went by the name of @nijeah (ironically is @haejin backwards - also a 'crypto-analyst'), decided to power down only during the process - ended up having negative vests. That caused an unexpected glitch which froze the blockchain (as it is designed to do when an anomaly appears - malicious or otherwise) and gave us all some really itchy fingers.

No Worries Though

Be glad it halted, that means all of your information was kept securely on the blockchain and no one could remove anything. I have to give props to the people that did their best to resolve the issue including @pfunk, @drakos (who is now a top 20 witness - go give him props when you can) and @someguy123. I stayed up ALL NIGHT waiting for the patch to make sure I did my part to assist in the smooth sailing of our lovely technology.


Figures

Annnnd Wouldn't Ya Know

Most people's transitions went fairly smoothly, including my protege @jatinhota. I was even in Steem.chat per @guiltyparties suggestion, and followed the first set of commands that was dished out for the witness nodes. None doing. Mine kept locking up. So I waited for Jat to let me know when @someguy123 had his docker version situated and then again, none doing. So I asked him what the deal was and it turns out I had to clear any shared files and then replay the entire blockchain. That is very time consuming and I missed another three blocks before I was back up and running again.


Some fuckin' people, I tell ya

Wait, Another Three Blocks?

Yes, I missed five last week because I changed all my keys. Was NOT my intention as some asshat with the ID @lostkey decided it would be funny to rob my family's account, @thealliance. It was quickly recovered but despite his bullshit white hat claims, he never returned our funds. Which, led me to changing all my keys, as previously stated. I thought I did it right, three times, but it turns out, as I dug deeper into my witness, that I had overlooked another configuration file that was causing it to hiccup and forcing me to miss blocks on my turn. Fixed now, everything is back up and running as it should be.

#thealliance

My family. This is my baby here on STEEM. Barely walking now. You want to know what I contribute as a witness? Aside from promoting and fostering things like @minnowbootcamp, @mbc-meps, @photocontests, @poetsunited, @welcomewagon, @ramblingradio, @adsactly, @freewritehouse, #steemsilvergold, #steemusa, @spl, @youarehope, @tarc and is that enough? The list does go on, I promise.


As for The Alliance, I really do love these people. They all came together so fast to recover the account and recoup our losses. THANK YOU EVERYBODY. Everyone knows coming in what they're about to be exposed to and it's not for everyone. Spreading the love is hard with some of the inane focus' on negativity. That's not how STEEM grows. Well, at least not how we envision it. We are the change we wish to see in the world (ask @jackmiller if you don't know what that means) and we stay true to ourselves in the process.

A Final Note

It would appear that several witnesses have either just not upgraded to the new soft fork or just don't care enough to do it. Heck even a few have backed out altogether like @jerrybanfield. I'll give all the ones I am voting for until Saturday night to make the change and if they have not done so, I will remove any votes I have placed for ones that aren't actively securing our chain. I have had problems too, takes a few days some times. But you are a witness. People here rely on you. STeeM oN my peoples, and remember to BE YOU!


CLICK HERE TO VOTE ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS
Amyloid's Awesomenaut


DQmYGeUdDTwuzUBDxvDdiAPxzbpA5i36RH4vzQiENpNA3k4.gif
@snook made this badass gif
@enginewitty #thealliance witness.png

Sort:  

I can only say that all the work you do everyday is remarkable, but so much that happens behind the curtain that we don't know and it only makes you more of a hero than you already are 😍 lots of work for witnesses to make this place the best for us all. Yes we rely on you, but you can Always rely on our Full support 👍❤️
Thank you for sharing AND being YOU!

Don't know how to be anyone else sweets :)

I know that, and that's what I mean 😊 😘

I remember that day. Please do provide a list of the very dedicated witness list when you are free. I still have 3 votes remaining. I have just voted all mentioned in the Alliance post and will certainly not support those shirking their duties.
I asked some users about the 'good' witness list but no one has an exact answer probably due to not wanting to hurt feelings?
Hope you do not mind me asking this?
Have a great day

Not sure who you re already voting for but I like @jackmiller @ura-soul @sapphic @ats-witness @swelker and several others.

Thank you. These names were unfamiliar to me until now. I will look them up.

Thank You for being you!!!

You always have our backs. Always. It's only right we have yours too when you need us.

I owe so much to you and all of the Family. For those that don't think it's a real family, they are so wrong. we always come together when someone needs us most.

Thank YOU for letting me be a part of the family and taking that first chance.

I'm happy you trusted me and made the leap sweets :)

This post has received a 20.64 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thanks for explaining what happened the other night - definitely a weird situation. Still not sure how the power-down got to negative vests but that's probably above my pay grade.

Thanks for all the work you do on the blockchain.
XXXOOO ~T

Most welcome. Only thing I can figure is they had some delegated out that was counted and they didnt pull the delegation back so it tripped over itself.

I hadn’t thought of that. Yes, seems like the only possible scenario. Hopefully, at some point, we will get the full scoop.

Congratulations @enginewitty! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Up all night figuring it out? That doesn't sound like fun to me, but I admire your dedication, for this and a thousand other things you do. Glad you've got it sorted. Thanks for the update! :)

No prob sweets. Main reason I stayed up was so I wouldn't any more because of last weeks bs and still ended up missing soooo, in hind sight, next time I will take a nap lol

My vote always with you...👍

Wow- you're an absolute hero for all the hard work you do here. I've only been around 3 weeks, but all I can say is, I've heard so much about you and have got huge admiration for the energy and care you put in to the community.

E x

Well thank you. Good feeling knowing people think well of me. Also great you feel the same. Thanks for stopping in! 😎😁

As usual, you never disappoint us who have voted you as a witness! Your hard work does not go unnoticed. We appreciate all that you do!

Thanks Sarge, you are a fabulous character and fun to hang out with. Glad I'm doin ya proud😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87