THE DIARY GAME : 5th December 2020: Returning a Bad Product To The VendorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thediarygame3 years ago

IMG_20201203_113223_8.jpg

It's been 11 months since I last posted on here with this account. Do I still write articles here? Yes I still do, well, sparsely. with my main account. I chose not to use that account for branding purposes.

As I mentioned earlier, this blog would serve as a personal place for me, where I can share my thoughts to myself out loud. And having the Steem community's #thediarygame challenge further makes it even more interesting to return to writing.

So, where have I been?

Been offline, for the most part. I threw myself into work and I am happy that I did, judging on the progress that I've had over the past 11 months. I am however sad that I wasn't able to combine my learning with blogging on here. I wouldn't say it was about the rewards alone because this account didn't get much votes or following anyways. But I have missed this place. A lot.

Happy to be back.

How did my day go today?

IMG_20201201_120747_7CS.jpg

Started off well. I did wake up pretty late this morning (I actually wake up late for a lot of days). Said my prayers and all, and just lay there in bed. I was pretty reluctant to get up at first.

Didn't have to go to work today because it was a Saturday. But I did have somewhere to go to.

You see, about 2 weeks ago, I got a fairly used PC from a dealer for about $230. It looked pretty sturdy with all the right specs so I grabbed it and I couldn't believe my luck.

Well, turns out the PC is a load of problems and today I was fed up with it and was going to return it back to the shop. For starts, it gets extremely hot at the slightest usage. Didn't matter if you were in a very cold, air-conditioned room, you'd get burned if it got any closer to your laps. I also found out that it had slight lags which were not expected at all for a device of its spec. It has Windows 10 pro installed, a 8gb ram memory, 500gb HDD rom, 1gb Nvidia NVS dedicated graphics card, and a clock speed of 2.8ghz core i5.

Will that amount of power, this thing should be blazing fast, but it would often get stuck at some refresh or a simple zoom on Figma (Yup, I design stuff). It was also unable to power some of the tools I had looked forward to use it with (such as Adobe Illustration. I had tried dealing with all the problems but eventually I had to take it back to the shop.

At the dealer's shop

One thing about a lot of dealers around the world is that they're not always willing to offer money-back for broken stuff they sell. Rather, they want you to take a replacement or simply take something else worth the exact same amount.

Well, I didn't want that, especially because I discovered how expensive this dealer's stuff sold for. I could literally get a better PC elsewhere with that same amount. So I opted for a refund and it wasn't pretty at all.

The dealer was adamant to offer a refund but eventually he budged, on the premise that he was going to keep back $35 to himself because I had used the PC for over a week now.

I thought that was pretty selfish and greedy because for one, the PC was in the exact same condition I had got it for. Also, I'd always voiced my complaints to him right from the first day I got the PC. I left the place sad after I was unable to beat his price lower. I do understand that a lot of such shops have policies that does not accept refunds. But this dealer was smart because he saw an opportunity and he was willing to exploit it.

Bottom line.

So, the deal broke down and I will be going back there on Tuesday to renegotiate. I think it might be beneficial to go with someone in the same niche as himself. Someone to convince him to not be so greedy.

If nothing works, I might have to take it to the police station. And yes, I do have my receipt of purchase.

I am also curious to know, has anyone else used a Dell latitude E6430 in the past? What was your experience with it?


I hope it all works out eventually.
This is my diary entry for 5th December, 2020. I stayed up until 12:23AM trying to get this posted.

Thanks for reading, if anyone is out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60