THE DIARY GAME : 01/09/2020 : Cultivate a limitless heart of goodwill - for all throughout the cosmos!

photo_2020-09-01_18-21-41.jpg
Before go to temple

Today is a holiday in my country because it is a Full Moon Poya Day. Full moon poya day is a Buddhist ceremony day, and because of that, it considers as a national holiday. I didn't went university yesterday as there were no lectures for me. So I spent the day at home and today as well. I waked up at 5.30 a.m to start studies early.

Before everything, I participated in spud4steem. I prepared my participation post for the spud4steem. If you still not participated it and willing to participate do it quickly.

image.png
Power up

After having the breakfast I started studies. I finished some pending assignments that should be done before the examination. Time to time I went to help my grandmother as she is feeling ill now.

In the afternoon, it started to rain. At about 2.00 p.m I went to have a nap and It was 4.00 p.m when I wake up.🤫 Even with the rain, I proposed my father to go to the temple. I plucked some flowers and collected some herbal leaves to offer Lord Buddha.

photo_2020-09-01_18-21-54.jpg
Rain drops on flowers

Father, brother, and I dressed to go to the temple. Mother didn't come as she is suffering from foot pain. We usually dress white when go to the temple. At the temple, first we arranged flowers and herbal leaves in trays. We prepared 3 trays from each. When getting into a Buddhist temple, there is an order to visit each part. There are 3 main symbols we worship.

Dagoba
photo_2020-09-01_18-21-57.jpg
Dagoba

Dagoba is the first place we should worship. A dagoba is built to memorize the Lord Buddha. In some dagoba's , relics of Buddha are deposited. So we worship dagoba by imagining worshiping the live Buddha.

Bodhi Tree
photo_2020-09-01_18-21-51.jpg
Bodhi Tree

Then we worship the bodhi tree. In every temple, there is a bodhi tree. The Siddhartha Gautama became Buddha under a Bodhi Tree after improving the mind. We worship Bodhi Tree as a memorial object that consumed by Buddha. In this temple, the Bodhi tree is a very ancient one. It expands half of the temple.

Image House (Bodu Ge)
photo_2020-09-01_18-21-44.jpg
Image house of this temple

I'm not sure about the English term used, but this is a house/building that contains statues and paintings related to Budha's life. It is a calm and artistic place where we can sit and sing Gatha to worship. Let me share one additional photograph of the Image house of another temple.

photo_2020-09-01_18-58-46.jpg
More beautiful image house of another temple (captured on past)

We sat on the floor and sang Buddhist Gatha to worship all three places, and to offer flowers, lamps, and herbs. Also sang Pirith which contains words discoursed by load buddha.

Cultivate a limitless heart of goodwill - for all throughout the cosmos!

It is a line from Karaniya Meththa Suthra, which discoursed about kindness and forgiveness. We didn't forget to remember our loving mother and wish for her to get well soon.

After coming back, I had a wash and started writing the diary.


Team : @steemceylon ❤️
This is Me

Sort:  

I really fancy religion a lot and love learning about others so much. That's a great holiday celebrated by Buddhists in your country to commemorate the great Gautama Buddha. I have to ask though. Do you worship at all the different places within the temple as a custom every year?

#onepercent
#ghana

There is no limitation. We can go to the temple any time.🙂 No rules just the will. 😊

That's fantastic then 😀

These pictures can claim one's mind by first look.
Don't you have rain these days. Here in every evenings there is a heavy rain. So it is hard to go out during evenings. I am bored with this weather now.
#onepercent #srilanka

Yes ane. It is raining even now. But in the evening only a light rain. So we went. But when comming back it was raining. I want rain to Moratuwa😂😂😂😂.

the budu madura in the photo is quite similar to the budu madura in our village. i will show you a picture next time as i could not go to temple due to raining 🤗🤗🤗

I went to Gonapinuwala temple . The last photo from Balapitiya temple☺️

It looks amazing to see raindrops on the flowers.
I am also taking some pictures like this today.
I will share soon.
#onepercent #bangladesh

it is very beautiful work! thanks for sharing

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Today I also saw the full moon in the night sky and today's sky is very beautiful. It was a little sad to hear that your grandmother is sick and hope she will recover very soon. I almost go to my grandmother's house. She was very happy to see me. The yellow flowers are very beautiful to look at. When a drop of rain falls on a leaf and a flower, its beauty is multiplied. Your temple design is very beautiful. There are Buddhist temples in some areas of our country

Have a great day. Carry on

#onepercent
#bangladesh

I am not good in photography. But I could manage to take this Rukaththana flower properly😀

Since yesterday evening still raining yet and lot more lazy feelings comes to me. So I couldn't go to the temple due to the raining. However you went there for worship to Buddha. Rukaththana flowers had fabulous looks with water droplets.

It rains in every poyaday nee.. 🤔 As I remember in last poya day also we wanted to go to temple but couldn't. So this time we went even under slight rain

I also wish your mother , grand mother a speedy recovery... I like to your title dr... meaningful one.. 😍

Very well explained about full moon poya day.
We wear white clothes because white color symbolizes peace and wearing this we don't attract other attention.
#onepercent #india #affable

We wear white clothes because white color symbolizes peace

Yeah. you are right. And also I feel a free when wearing white

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59