You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ڈائری اندراج شمارہ ۵: مجھے سمجھ نہیں آتی۔ | Diary entry # 5: I don't understand

in #thediarygame2 months ago

First of all - the formatting options in the Steemit editor are very limited. There are a few HTML codes beyond the notorious Markdown style, some of which work (most of which don't, unfortunately...) What you could use for Urdu - I have absolutely no idea.

The fact is that I prefer to write in the language in which I think. Especially with poetry, that's not so easy to transfer.

Sort:  

Yes, the formatting gave me a real headache. Typing was relatively easy, but still difficult. I think I will stick to English. I am too old for learning the urdu keyboard now. And even if I get hang of it, I won't be able to format it here at steemit. I have trained my mind for English now :)

Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope you got the urdu part ;)

Good that you mentioned it!

When I translate Urdu directly into German - whether with Google, Pons or Webtran - it sounds really, really lousy. Now I know your way of expressing yourself, and I wouldn't assume that you would suddenly bumble in your mother tongue. So - the translators are good at translating the European languages among themselves, but not the "exotic" language areas.

Incidentally, when I asked the operators of DeepL, they told me that they don't offer translations from and into Urdu, Bengali or Hindi for precisely this reason: they couldn't meet their own quality standards...

Well, our favourite enemies, the AI's, do a much better job. But better than terrible is still not good. Unfortunately.

If I translate your Urdu text into English, it's much more pleasant to read, but doesn't quite correspond to your English text. I assume you didn't translate it, but wrote both versions in parallel...?

So: I always welcome contributions in the original language, as long as an English version is also offered directly by the author. We have often discussed this, for example in Dream Steem or in Deutsch Unplugged, and we have different opinions. The fact is: if I had only got to know you through texts written in Urdu, I wouldn't have got to know you ;-))

I didn't translate it; it's a hybrid post with the first half in Urdu and the latter half in English. Initially, I intended to write the entire post in Urdu but abandoned the idea midway due to formatting issues. The editor struggles with Urdu text, resulting in odd spaces. I believe it's because Urdu is written from right to left, unlike English and other European languages.

For reference you can read my replies to hira and amina. I have translated both texts in English. But not the post!

The fact is: if I had only got to know you through texts written in Urdu, I wouldn't have got to know you ;-))

I can understand why :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69507.14
ETH 3707.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.37