Update on fake steemit emails - Solved!

in #thehack8 years ago

I wanted to update all of you on the last post I made. Like many, my account was compromised and the way they wanted to recover my account was alarming in my opinion.

After @ned veryfied in #slack that it was indeed him that send the mail, I at least knew that it was indeed not a fake email. But I was still not convinced in sending my ID over the internet. Thank god about six hours later Ned send me a mail on their new recovery process. Big credits to the Steemit team for their response time as they probably have their hands full on development of the platform.

The new process lets you input your old owner key and lets you connect to Facebook to verify. I tried this with the old system, but failed because the hacker changed my owner key... Thank god nothing ever happened to my account, except for a spam post the hacker made. Now with the new process I successfully changed all the keys.

The new requirement for a password is 32 characters long. You should definitively go for Lastpass, I switched to it a couple of days ago and it has been good to me so far.

I would like to say they made a professional choice in recovering your account. I think that sending my ID was a bit too much, as they had no data to verify it with anything.

If you still have not changed you password after the hack, please do so now and visit this official Steemit post.

Sort:  

Very good that nothing happened with the account . User safety is very important . New passwords do not think now would be to crack ! Sorry for my english , @thebatchman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 67414.73
ETH 3501.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18