The Power Of Sound - Post #25

in #thepowerofsound4 years ago (edited)

Here, I share with you the music I've come across that has a certain quality to it, rare and elusive. The kind of music that moves you so deeply in a way that you can't understand or describe. The lyrics or music or video may make no sense to your brain, but it does to your soul. It's beautifully cathartic and inspiring.

Previous posts:
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24

Artist: Type O Negative

Song: The Profits Of Doom

Again I feel compelled to share with you the genius of Type O Negative. Last time in Post #8, I wrote about September Sun. The song I write about now is right up there with that one.

I feel that Type O Negative's best work, by far, is this last album, Dead Again. I have a few other favorite songs scattered about the rest of their catalog, but this album is a masterpiece. The band went out with a bang as their frontman, Peter Steele, died unexpectedly a few years after the release of this album.

Type O Negative has been a part of me since I was a child. Thanks to my parents, I grew up listening to this, which adds even more beauty to this already incredible music. The music you hear in your early years stays with you forever.

Words can't do the music justice. All I can say is that the band has expanded the boundaries of metal music and written music with unbelievable power, comparable to the experience of hearing a symphony. Far from a standard rock formula of intro-verse-chorus-verse-solo-chorus-outro or some similar combination, Type O Negative has music that defies all expectations, roaming wide spectrums between heavy, soft, fast, slow, uplifting, depressing, and tying it all together into a transcendental experience that speaks to your soul. It is music like this which has inspired me so deeply to develop my skills as a musician, even if it takes me my whole life to be able to speak the language of music so fluently and eloquently.

As Drew Flanagan states in the comments of the YouTube video linked above,

"This is Type O's Bohemian Rhapsody. Understood sadly by a chosen few ... YOU!"


From Fandom:
"On November 7, 2018, Kathy O'Connor of the Estate of Peter T. Ratajczyk Steele published the correction for the actual cause of death. Although autopsy confirmed he died from aortic aneurysm, O'Connor reported that Peter Steele died from diverticulitis that went untreated. The disease led to sepsis that ultimately killed him. The flu Steele was nursing was actually diverticulitis and needs immediate hospital admission as soon as sepsis set in, but Pete didn't go to hospital as he didn't want to leave one of his cats who was having a tumor behind, otherwise if he did, Steele would've survive past it."

Rest in peace, Peter Steele
January 4, 1962 - April 14, 2010


Thank you so much for reading! If you like what you see and hear, please consider upvoting and resteeming; it helps a lot! Thank you for your support on my previous posts! It really means a lot to know that you all appreciate my writing.

Stay tuned for more exceptional music in a week or two!

Post #26


https://linktr.ee/jake_duncan_art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68