The Sims 3 - The Ultimate Game ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #thesims37 years ago

Welcome to The Sims 3 - The Ultimate Game Review!

Hello Steemers and Welcome to my new series: The Ultimate Game Review!

In this Series, I share the very best reviews from our friends in the comment section of Steam. These Reviews left by myself and thousands of other users on the Steam Platform. Every Review is Credited to the Original Poster by their steam name from the Steam Gaming App. None or these reviews are taken from professional writers on blog sites, websites or articles. These are all just people like you and me and their thoughts after trying a game.

The reason I decided to do this was because most Gaming Reviews always seem so one sided, perhaps the Author has an agenda, perhaps they are predjeduce or a bigot. Who knows. With this series, I feel like Gamers, like you and I will get the absolute best experience possible when trying to determine whether the game is for you or not. The reason being, we will get to see the thoughts of not just 1 but many "Average Joes" like you and I and their thoughts after playing a game.

So please, sit back and Enjoy this Ultimate Game Review that I've compiled together for you!

Recommended

By SHƟNŁƗИΞ

In The Sims 3 you create and control simulated people and watch them live their lives. It's a good life simulator. Perhaps a little too good, because just like with real life, it will destroy your hopes and dreams.

When The Sims 3 works it can be a fun game, but unfortunately that isn't very often. The game is notorious for lagging, stuttering, freezing, crashing, and having all sorts of other game-breaking bugs. If you don't believe me, just Google it. I've spent more time trying to fix the game than actually playing it.

The Sims 3 becomes frustrating even before you start a game. Depending on your system, and which DLC you have installed, it can take several minutes to several hours just to get into the actual game. But this is mostly the fault of the game itself, as even high-end systems experience the same problems running The Sims 3. In fact, the loading times are so long that the developers added a barely functioning mini-game to play while you wait for the game to load. The Sims 3 has THE WORST loading times I've ever experienced in a game, and that's saying a lot.

Speaking of worst, The Sims 3 also has THE WORST camera controls I've ever experienced in a game. The camera controls aren't just clunky and clumsy. They slide around even after you let go of the button, causing the camera to overshoot the intended target. Other times it feels like the game is actively fighting back at every key press, pushing the camera in a different direction from the one you're moving it in.

To make matters even worse, you CANNOT customize the controls in The Sims 3. Not at all. This isn't even a console port. This game was designed for the PC, yet you cannot customize the controls. There is no option to do so in the options menu. There isn't even an option to look at the keyboard controls so you know which button does what. And the Q key quits the game, so be careful.

To add insult to injury, EA has made The Sims 3 one of it's biggest cash cows. Not only are there numerous over-priced expansion packs, and even more garbage that EA wants you to buy from their online store, but they constantly remind you of these products via in-game pop-up advertisements. That's right... Pop-up advertisements in an offline single-player game. It's utterly disgusting. And when the DLC does go on sale, it's usually cheaper to buy directly from EA's online store rather than from Steam.

I just can't understand how any professional game designer or publisher thought it was acceptable to release a game in this broken state. The Sims 3 has been out since 2009 and these issues have never been fixed. And now The Sims 4 is coming out, so I doubt The Sims 3 will be getting better anytime soon.

EA and the developers of The Sims 3 should feel nothing but shame over this poorly-coded excuse for a game. It's no wonder that EA keeps winning the award for the worst company in America. Don't make the same mistake I did and pay actual money to play The Sims 3. I cannot recommend it to anyone unless you are a masochist.

Satisfaction

By Suprino

Decided to create an orphan sister (teenager) with her little brother (kid) who are currently living with an old lady.

  • Needed to generate income to live properly, so the sister had a part-time job after school.

  • The old lady had to be the maid, chef and as well as the handyman, so the household won't crumble to dust. But somehow, everytime she uses something, it breaks.

  • The boy had to make paintings and sell them.

  • The school gave homeworks everyday, they had to finish it while having a part-time job and selling paintings so they get good grades.

  • Managed to run everything smoothly.

  • Sister got a raise a few times.

  • The old lady excelled at cooking, cleaning and being the handyman. Fed them well and repaired every broken things. Although it was mostly caused by her.

  • The boy improved his painting skills, thus his paintings cost a little more.

  • The old lady tried to upgrade the stereo so it won't break anymore. She got electrocuted. She left it alone and decided to upgrade the microwave instead so it would cook food much faster. She got electrocuted again, which she then died, met the grim reaper, made a deal with him and they both vanished.

  • The kids were in school when it happened. Both mourned for 2 days straight after they heard the news.

  • Sister had to cook and work while do homeworks everyday to keep both of them happy.

  • The boy still had to paint.

    After sometime living without an adult, with hardwork and dedication...

  • The sister became a five-star chef. Married her old co-worker, and has twins from a different father; a girl and a boy, who became a musician and an athlete.

  • The boy became a novelist and an artist. Every sunday, he makes more than 10k, and his paintings cost around 1k to 3k. Engaged with his old friend he met from school.

  • They all live in a villa house up on the mountain.

How do I feel?

Satisfied as ♥♥♥♥

21

By Krin

I'm 21 years old and it's time to make a fresh start. I leave my home town in search of a new life following my dream of becoming a world class culinary artist. I have near enough no money to my name, but with the help of some sort of demi-God I'm suddenly drowning in cash. I buy a beautiful new home and join the local bistro to kick start my career. After just my first week I have plenty of acquaintances and decide to throw a party to deepen my relationships and make some life long friends. The party is going smoothly, and I even get close to a girl and give her the old one-two in my way too big for just me bed. She stays the night and the next day I propose. There's no going slow in this town. Bad news; turns out she's my boss, I gained a step daughter, and she's also pregnant. She soon hits the elderly stages and I end up having to sleep with what looks like a dried up ballsack. I'm still young and have a granny for a wife and a baby who definitely isn't short of being "special". Not to mention my step daughter hates me. Is my life cliché? I wouldn't let it end like this. I throw party after party, befriend a highschool girl, and once she hits the ripe age of 18 I snag my first kiss with her; all under the watchful eyes of my wife. Needless to say, we're divorced now, and for some reason the little♥♥♥♥♥♥who caused it is no longer interested. That's okay. Time goes by and I bed a tubby tess in my ex-wifes bed, before throwing rejection in her face. My new target is the maid. She has too much to drink and I take her to bed in, you guessed it, my ex-wifes bed. My ex-step daughter walks in on us so I teach her a few choice words on her way out. I decide to marry the maid and have another child with her. A week later I have a little black baby girl, and my first daughter is a teenager now. Although I sleep with my wife and ex-wife in the same room, things are going good. Or so I thought. My new maid wife turns elderly and I've only just hit 30. My life takes a weird turn next, as the ex-step daughter who once hated me is now coming onto me hard. I say ♥♥♥♥ it, and bed her. My maid wife catches me and we get divorced, so naturally I marry the step daughter while she's in her prime, and of course we need another baby. My first wife is now my mother-in-law, and my daughter is also my sister-in-law. Not that she cares. No matter how many wives I go through, my two daughters are still my best friends. Because they're the only two people in this world I can't ♥♥♥♥.

Too Much DLC!

By mrwl

I love sims despite its glitches and the unfortunate EA creators. I was going to write this to Steam directly but can't seem to find a way to send it to them so instead I'm leaving it in the comments with the hopes that someone on the Steam team will see it: You and EA need to get over your ridiculous rivalry! It is absolutely ridiculous to force customers to rebuy everything they already own. This means people are wasting 20-30 dollars for one dlc because of this stupid rivalry you guys have. At the least, you should put a disclaimer on these games that you will not register games not bought through steam which is really ♥♥♥♥♥♥ of you by the way and save your customer base some money. Also if you could make a way that's simple for people who own games on disc to register them with you guys that would make people very happy. I've been playing sims long before you guys offered it. I have 12 DLC's bought on disc and not from steam that I now cannot use, thanks a lot! That's $220 worth of games that I can't use if I want to play the $60 worth of DLC that I bought from you guys! I wouldn't have bothered buying Sims from you if you had the decency to put a disclaimer up saying that it will not run with preowned DLC not bought through Steam.

TO ALL OF YOU SIM LOVERS OUT THERE; If you own Sims DLC outisde of Steam please save yourself some money and don't buy it from Steam.

Pro's and Con's

By Vladimir Putin

Positives:

  • Purchase a house for your family or build and design your own with hundreds of customisation options. Buy pools, decorative garden plants, televisions, computers, exercise machines, kitchen appliances, cars, toys for toddlers, sculptures, pet animals (DLC)....the list is huge!
  • Work as a master criminal, a journalist, celebrity or even a detective + more! Attend University to further your studies and become a video game designer, sports agent or arts appraiser (DLC). Go travelling to Egypt, France and China (DLC). This game is packed with plenty to do.
  • Many different skills for your sims to level up, science, cooking, athleticism, logic, charisma etc, so you can have a very diverse gameplay experience.
  • Optional quests or objectives will become available from schooling, work and elsewhere, allowing you to participate in one-off opportunities with rewards.
  • Several neighbourhoods to play in, each with a unique layout.
  • There's a large amount of playtime in the Sims 3 for players of all sorts. I managed to get over 100 hours out of it.

    Negatives:
  • Micromanagement is very unresponsive, Sims refuse to complete workplace objectives over and over and decide what they want to do themselves, instead of what you've told them. High free will means Sims react to basic needs problems like feeding a baby or bathing themselves, but it also results in ignoring your human commands repeatedly, which gets infuriating after a few hours.

  • While I acknowledge graphics aren't a major focus of Sims gameplay, it could definitely be improved. Aesthetically, this game is disappointing.

  • The game is quite expensive, even though it's now 8 years old (as of 20/02/2017). DLC is also pricey, so make sure you absolutely want this game before paying in full, or wait for a sale.

  • Bad pathing by Sims, they don't interact with the environment well and get stuck in certain spots. Could be much smoother.

  • Despite the vastness of Sims 3, it can become boring after awhile. Once you build a mansion filled with the most luxurious objects money can buy and had a family, there's really not much else to do. This game has a cycle of repetition, whereby you continue to do the same tasks over and over, just in different ways and styles. Sure, the kids in your family grow up and you're able to control their lives, but it's like starting from scratch again, where's the sense of accomplishment in that? It's the balance between fun and repetitive content which the Sims 3 suffers from. There's a real conflict here, with the many facets of variability trying to shine, but then a monotonous feeling sometimes overshadowing it.

Overall Score: 7.5/10

The Sims 3 is a nice, relaxing game with many interesting features. For fans of the series, it's really worth checking it out. For those that are new to the game, I recommend grabbing this too, just get it cheap and be aware of the flaws.

Final Verdict:

80/100

Extremely addictive. The overwhelmingly best life simulator game series there is to date, this is a solid addition to The Sims game franchise. The only annoying thing is all of the expansions, but as The Sims 4 just came out, maybe the prices will drop on some of those. If you can't afford The Sims 4 and don't know if going back is worth it, trust me it is. This game is very fun, very addictive, and is overall just a great, memorable game.

Thanks for Reading the Review!

If you enjoyed it, don't forget to drop an Upvote, Follow and Resteem!
If you have any Questions or Thoughts, leave me a Comment too!
Lots of Time and Effort goes into these Reviews, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoy putting these together!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60