You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When I Was Shot At - Golden State Killer - Day 115 - Daily Haiku - part 2

Forgiveness - you're a better woman than I am! - may grant you peace of mind, but that police officer needs more than forgiveness. A brain, for starters, or a conscience? A bullet blows out your dad's car window (the one day you drive his car) - and the officers dismisses shooting, suggests heat buildup inside the car might have caused the window to blow outward - never mind what that sort of heat buildup would have done to me physically, had it been extreme enough to cause the car window to explode - later, more shootings, and fatalities too. This is why I've been resorting to pet photos... the world is too crazy!

Sort:  

Indeed. It is the primary incident that prompted me to leave L.A., though it took me a couple of years to save up and do so.

And then I moved initially to Tampa, which I learned belatedly had an even higher murder rate per capita than L.A., at the time. Oops.

Ohhh, ouch! Stay safe, wherever you are...

We're in a rural area now, surrounded by neighbors who are also hunters, so we're pretty safe, as that sort of thing goes.

And we seriously lucked out when we moved here, and landed amid some really great neighbors, several of whom have told me that if I need anything, all I have to do is ask. And they meant it, and have helped us out numerous times, in the six years we have we've lived here.

Plus we have Lolo to alert us, if anything is up; and as you know, criminals tend to avoid homes with barking dogs, especially good-sized ones.

And then again, I go by the vibes, and if something seems off I pay attention, such as when we had a prowler around the studio last year. And, true to their word, our local sheriffs stepped up their patrols in our neighborhood, so between that and beefing up the lock on the basement door, we've had no further issues.

Your vibes sound as accurate as a dog's sixth sense!
Funny, I'm on seven acres, and we slip through a hole in the fence to dog-walk on public hunting ground, and wear orange whenever something is in season. Hunters with buck fever will shoot at anything that moves, and turkey hunters tend to hate our dogs, even though I argue that if there's a turkey, our dogs will scare it up. Also, turkeys ALWAYS seem to know which side of the fence is private property, and that's where they hide during turkey season. These hunters spend hundreds or thousands of dollars on tents, camouflage, weaponry, and other gadgets. Not like the Natives of long ago...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84