My 2018 - This is my hobby: More than a hobby; Music has been in my life since always

jazz fest.jpg

Music for me is one of the most reliable sources of happiness, it feeds my soul, my hear and my mind. It’s been in my life since I was young, my father Jose Ramoncini is a trumpet player, and my grandparent was a singer, guitar player, and cuatro player who loved music more than anything he could ever have in his life

I don’t like to say that’s my job, because I think that is more than a job more than a hobby, I could also say that is my passion, my life style. And everything I could ever wanted in my life or where my life to be.

I started my musical journey playing the guitar, a listening to Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody, playing in little garage bands and doing a few shows to family and friends and I really enjoyed those days in my life, but at the time I knew I wanted to be more. I wanted to succeed as a musician, I wanted to be more and connect with the people with my music, so I started studying at music schools, I listening to more and more music to learn from the musicians I’ve always admire at the time like Arctic Monkeys, Queen, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Amigos Invisibles, Desorden Público.

From the High notes to the low notes

I always say that I’m a bass player by accident. Because I started at a music school were they had to do a recital every year, and there were too many guitarist and no bass player, so they asked me if I wanted to play the bass on the show. They told how to do some things, how to put my finger on and that it what basically a low register guitar without the B and the high E string. So after that day I started to pay more attention on the Bass line, than the chords.

I started listening to jazz and Bigbands, to Zeta Bosio the bass player on one of my favorite band in Latin America Soda Stereo, and also to Sting Bass line at his solo career, and after a long discussion with my dad I decided to start studying the bass, because I thought it would be better and more reliable for me to have a career as a bass player because there’s more guitar players than bass players.

I started taking classes with Gerardo Chacón who taught me all I needed to know to become a Bass player. With him I learned all mayor and minor scales, to play a groove for Venezuelan Merengue, to walk on the bass and to sight read music.

Latin Music and my decision to play Doublebass

My dad has always played Latin music with his trumpet, so he encourage me to go to a class with Jesus “Mandinga” Torres one of the best Salsa Bass players in Venezuela to see if I’ve got interested on starting playing Baby bass to have more opportunities to work as a musician. And I loved it. A month later I sing up myself into the Simon Bolivar Musical Conservatory, and the Superior School of Music Jose Angel Lamas to keep growing and to play the double bass I was listening at the Miles Davis Albums, and also to start playing Latin Music with the baby bass I needed the double bass technique. So I started listening to Salvador Cuevas and Bobby Valentin to know what’s all about.

The Journey

I began my journey at Afro Venezuela Orchestra Simon Bolivar, and then I started playing with Latin Caribbean, to finally get where I wanted to be at the time the Venezuela Bigband Jazz, trough ´that period of time I’ve played at the moment with well known Venezuela artist, Like Aquiles Baez, Yma America, Rafael “Pollo” Brito, Guasak4, Pablo Gil, Biella Da Costa, Alvaro Falcón, Alberto Vergara. And at this moment I keep working with new bands and getting better and better. Band like los doce apostoles, EL otro Polo’s band, Los Cañoneros, "Aqui entre dos" duet, Perfusión, 3 y Cuatro, Cafe con pan project, and many more playing from big theaters and stages, to private parties, doing all kind of music to keep going up with my musical career.

Growing Experience

My passion since then was to play grooves and bass lines and I started learning about classical music at this point a can say I’ve really grown a lot through the pass 6 years I have working at the music business,. It takes a lot of time and effort to get a great technique and to keep going as you get better every day, it take at least 8 hours a day to keep being a great musician and to advance really fast. Every day you need to keep improving your skills, and so when you think you are the best on what you do, go to youtube or go to a concert and it all goes always and you are gonna keep on track, it slaps at you that other people know better and new things that you didn’t know, I personally don’t see myself as the best player or things like that but I’m good at what I do, and I want to keep growing and growing faster to get where a want to be when I get to the top of my career. And all of those things are possible because of the people that always believed in me and still believe that I have what it takes to be great, and I don’t want to disappoint them.

Influences

My influences on bass or well said the bass player and Doublebass player I admire are: Sting, Zeta Bosio, Jaco Pastorius, Paul Chambers, Ron Carter, Gustavo Marquez, Rodner Padilla, Gerardo Chacón, Jesus “Mandinga” Torres, Julito Antillano, Bobby Valentin, Lalo Carrillo, Roberto Koch, Gonzalo teppa, Oscar Fanegas, Carlos Sanoja, Sal Cuevas, Pedro Perez and all of the musicians that directly or indirectly gave me the tools that I need to keep growing and being the musician I want to be when a get older.
Sort:  

Great passion! I'm not good at music but I love to listen

Same thingn happen to me with yours i love whatching but im not good at it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59