I've realized that...

in #thoughts5 years ago

downvoting is taking way more effort than upvoting lately.

I admit I've also been super busy with another move but damn, not often I've been considering going autocuration on this account or following a trail just cause there's so much to do.

Some of you that have been here for longer, do you remember how hectic things were during the bull run in early 2018? So much was happening it was ridiculous, compared to that the bear market before that it was a ghost town here.

The more surprising thing though is that this bear market seems to be even more hectic than the last bull run, like wow, what is it going to look like here if we hit ATH again? I'm gonna need more eyes and hands, that's for sure.

Anyway, at first we were not giving out any clarification on the downvotes we've been casting with ocdb strictly on bid botted content and hoping people will figure out what it is about by reading some of the posts we've written about it. Now that we are leaving comments it has become a much bigger task cause there are some accounts there that don't seem to grasp why, take it personally or just want to waste as much time as possible out of spite. It's pretty sad, especially some that have decided they want to take things outside the platform and try to smear our name and anyone else following our trails and even go so far as to threaten them.

I'm hoping the psychology to votes and pending rewards will gradually change over time while downvotes are being normalized more and more. Can you imagine if reddit and youtube had public downvotes that others could see who cast them, do you think the reactions would be the same there?

All in all I am still happy the majority of replies to the explanatory comments have been positive and with a good attitude, understanding the EIP and that curation is coming back and at the same time I am happy to see the amount of curation that is happening only a month later.

Hoping things will just keep improving from here on out and that we as a community stay rational and once there are no more profitable bid bot votes to downvote we can downvote for disagreement of rewards and bring more balance to the ecosystem.

Sort:  

Now that we are leaving comments it has become a much bigger task cause there are some accounts there that...

Craft a default comment which directs them to a channel in your Discord where the community will educate them [or give them the dunce cap/role]. That will prevent long discussion threads.

I am happy to see the love spread around a lot more. I remember years ago I floated an idea of capping rewards, but that was never popular.

What do you think is a good topside for a decent post, any ballpark idea? I have to say in all my time here I have never used a bidbot, but I have to give you props for the changes Ive seen. Well done.

Just make a list of 100 posts on the topic of downvoting and every time someone responds to an ocdb comment explaining why they were downvoted, send them the next post on the list to read.
I think most people want a 3 strike you are out policy or something, but then they will surely abuse that if they are abusing under the current system of no chances.

It may be taking some time to create a healthy environment but the time worth it!

Another one of those chaotic goods? I don't know how else I would handle things, but it's good to exhibit patience like you've been. None of this was ever easy, but I think that's what I like about it.

Great job by @ocdb I think it making more sense with the notification down the comment box anytime there is a catch

Posted using Partiko Android

Is there a DV trail you know of I can follow? A reliable one that is... I keep an eye on SFG posts but I’ve been finding lately I don’t agree with a lot of the things they’ve been DVng so have given up! My DV is going to waste!

We just started one with curangel on steemauto, current main focus is on vote circles and excessive self voters.
OCDB has one too, if you prefer to go after the bid bot users only.

OK thanks for the pointers @pharesim - helpful!

Loading...

Anonymous post (not witness) voting will solve a lot of problems..

Yep, I have always wondered what it might look like if anonymous. Would be interesting to see what changes in regards to whale voting too and now with the downvotes, whether it would find a better equilibrium for value discovery.

Wanna elaborate on that? :D

Can you imagine if reddit and youtube had public downvotes that others could see who cast them, do you think the reactions would be the same there?

As you said here. Votes shouldn't list names. Ppl just accept whatever and it's not the end of the world.

Ah yeah, was thinking of anymous posters for some reason, then again curating content from a front-end that would hide usernames and rep could be interesting too. :D

Steem's certainly in a weird place. It's first and foremost, account-centric (like Youtube). Hard to see it move to something content-centric (like Reddit). But maybe "communities" will make that usernameless/rep UI sensible.

Diminishing returns may be a solution ...
That's how I tried to describe the idea:
"How about if after each vote on a specific account (including one's own account) each further vote on the same account would lead to significantly less curation reward for the voter and less profit for the upvoted account? Thus, when upvoting an account which I had already upvoted before, my voting power would be smaller than in case I upvote an account which I didn't upvote before."

Hoping things will just keep improving from here on out and that we as a community stay rational

LoL @acidyo … STAY rational...who's RATIONAL...?!?!?!?

You sound angry.

Angry? I'm one of the sweetest guys on the platform these days. Look at how many of the ladies send me loving messages, with samples of a user name change to suit my @NewSteem personality...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05