RANDOM THOUGHTS

in #thoughts5 years ago

Well before I start today's discussion I just want to let you guys know I'm selling my steemmonster collection(just in case there are any potential buyers on my timeline):

Selling my entire collection $40:
https://monsters.steempeak.com/@nonsowrites/collection

Why am I selling?

Well, I need the cash to cover for my data expenses. Since I started using dtube my data consumption has increased drastically and I cannot keep exchange my steem for data. By the way, shout out to my vendor, @apeximomen. So you see, steem does have real-life use.

So I'm selling my cards because I care more about my steem than I do my steemmonster cards, and I have lost interest in playing. I was going to give my younger brother but he seems not to have any interest in Steen or any steem related thing.

Steemmonster is still by far the best dapp on the steem blockchain in my opinion and might just be the only one out of the existing dapps that will survive this evolutionary phase the steem blockchain is undergoing. And for the following reasons:

• When it comes to public relation(ship) they rank top on my list of best apps. They are constantly communicating with their customers via their social media platforms. Most dapps fail to realize the importance of communication and are losing users.

• It is a business and they have one of the best work critics.

• Innovation. The team is constantly looking for ways to improve on their existing services.

• And lastly, they have an active user base. The app is structured in a way that spammers or bad actors cannot benefit fully, unlike other dapps that are been bombarded by steemians with their low-quality contents.

These are some of the reasons I think they will outlive most dapps on this platform.

The only problem I have with steemmonster is the gameplay. The strategies for winning are basic and your chances of winning depend a lot on the quality of your cards. If they can improve the gameplay and reduce the likelihood of winning based on the quality of one's card, I believe it will be a more exciting game. But I do believe they will look into this in the nearest future, sadly I might have sold all my cards before then.

I understand that steemmonster cards are assets that can increase in value in the nearest future, but I have an issue with its liquidity rate. Holding steemmonster cards is like holding steempower, it is not that easy to sell. Maybe that will change in the future.

I did not plan to talk about steemmonsters today. Rather I wanted to address the state of most dapps. This is just my personal opinion about dapps: most of them will fail. Why? Because most of the dapps do not possess the qualities mentioned above. We do not know if or when steem inc will take their delegations but I'm certain if and when they do most of the dapps will die a sudden and painful death.

I was talking to someone today about this centralized reward system most of these dapps operate which is dependent on the reward pool. Not only that, these centralized curation accounts determine to a large extent what makes it to their trending page, rather than the users of this dapps. Most do not have any business model and that's another thing that worries me From what I have deduced from examining most dapps, we just have a bunch of developers developing without weighing the economic viability of their venture(s). Most of the teams heading these dapps are not business orientated and have no plans moving forward.

Steemit has taken a step by adding the Ad feature as a means of generating some revenue for the company, and I wonder when some of these dapps will follow suit. This said reward pool will not sustain the steem ecosystem for long and I'm pretty sure we know this. Most times feel these dapps do not bother so much about improving their existing services because they have an exit plan. And to be quite frank I have mine as well. Well, not necessary an exit plan but one that keeps me active on this platform for as long as possible

As I have chosen to take blogging/vlogging serious, it's only fair I begin to look outside the box. I also imagine the possibility of not being able to earn from the reward pool. If that happens, I will need to source for my income elsewhere or through other means, like running ads or promotional services. I'm not near this level yet but I'm working towards it. So what I am saying, in essence, is: I'm not just hoping steem moons someday, I also hope to create a career for myself on the cyberspace that is not solely dependent on the reward pool. So my strategy has and also been reaching out to a larger audience and not just creating quality contents, but contents that will be on demand. I guess many people do not understand the fact that you can be doing something extraordinary no one's values. Steem has in a way made us immune to this fact or possibility. The way we get rewarded here has made most of us forget how the real world operates. Well, we can enjoy living in our bubble until things change around here, and when I talk about changes I mean steem going mainstream which doesn't seem like a possibility any time soon for many so they're relaxed. But it would shock most of us what can happen in a couple of months (okay I am reaching here. Even I don't believe that will happen in months). The only advantage most of us have over the next generation of steemians is that we are early adopters and might have gathered enough steem before then but how relevant would some of us be with our huge stakes? Now being average or ordinary is okay for now on steem. We don't have that many options, to be honest in terms of content diversity, but the future of this platform would be for the talented or those who have bigger wallets than ours (the latter is already happening). We are not even ready, if you ask me, for the kind of changes that would occur here.

I will like you guys to spend some time thinking about how this place might look in a couple of years, especially in this blogging/vlogging sphere. Imagine what the conversations will be like; the type of people who would join us here. We talk so much about the future but are we ready? If not when would we be? And I'm not just talking about the dapps and projects, I'm talking about you as an individual, what's your future on steem?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

It is certainly almost impossible to make a living or having a viable project here in the ecosystem depending on the reward pool these days given the depressed value of Steem. Until both internal and external forces drive adoption and demand, many need to consider this a hobby or venture that may not work out but the opportunity exists to monetize and create value here given our community and the engagement surrounding it all/

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 367 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94