You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rambles before head checks

in #thoughts5 years ago

I wonder if you create your titles first and then write a post the other way around? Do you create your post first in your head and then write or are you thinking it while you writing?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Good questions and all I can say is, it depends :)

Sometimes I have a title I like and start writing but lose my way so, the title changes. Sometimes, I get an idea from an image and build the content around that. Sometimes I am part of a conversation and a passing word or two is the catalyst. Sometimes I sit in the car driving and thinking through ideas that interest me. I like titles that play on words though, many poorly :)

Nearly all the time though, I free write my thoughts and other than a glance over for obvious typos, click post. Many people think that this is cheating in some way or it lessons the quality of the post, I disagree. My Dad could sit for 200 hours painting a painting but, he didn't make a mistake along the way, the time taken was just the time it took to get the result - he knew what he was doing.

While not musical, in some way I see my writing a little like Jazz music, it is unrehearsed but it isn't unskilled and it has taken me a lifetime to get the knowledge, even though I have only been applying it in writing since joining Steem.

My dad and your dad might have had something in common too. He was a painter. I like the improv analogy with jazz and writing. I kind of improvise that way the organ too. Telling a story and watching it unfold in real time.

PS Your comment is fascinating enough to be a separate post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91