You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Someone else's glasses

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

I think people who don't invest money in Steem simply don't trust it enough to see it succeed in the future.

I don't live in a struggling country, like Venezuela. I don't receive food stamps and 5 dollar a month salary. I don't have to buy milk from my Steem earnings. Therefore, it would be unfair for me to say to people from this country that they should invest into Steem.

Are there any Venezuelans who are Steem investors on this platform? They should speak up.

But at the same time a lot of people living in much more comfortable conditions don't trust Steem enough to invest in it.

And because I'm not a financial adviser, it would be unwise for me to advise anything.

But I know one thing for sure: it is wise to save up some disposable income, like you say, even as little as 50 cents and use it to diversify your future income.

People who are struggling their ends meet, have only 1 income stream or less. People who want to achieve financial independence have at least 7.

I have chosen Steem to be one of such streams.

PS Always great to engage in your thought-provoking discussions.

Sort:  

Are there any Venezuelans who are Steem investors on this platform? They should speak up.

There are some who have powered up a fair bit.

And because I'm not a financial adviser, it would be unwise for me to advise anything.

On the internet, don't take medical advice either :)

But I know one thing for sure: it is wise to save up some disposable income, like you say, even as little as 50 cents and use it to diversify your future income.

Any amount is better than no amount.

People who are struggling their ends meet, have only 1 income stream or less. People who want to achieve financial independence have at least 7.

STeem provides some opportunity for more people to add one or two more to support themselves now and later.

I have chosen Steem to be one of such streams.

Me too :)

Thanks! Shall we make a new tag metoo? Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Are there any Venezuelans who are Steem investors on this platform? They should speak up.

@organduo

I will speak up: ¡No! there are no Venezuelan Investors as such on this platform!!

More than anything, because besides all the struggling things you've already mentioned above, you forgot to highlight that we are also under the worst & biggest economic hyperinflation worldwide.

That's why I think Steem can help you earn your living. Also Whaleshares. In general, I think crypto when used right is going to help reduce poverty in the world and help reclaim power to the people. Just by participating in our Pinky and Spiky contest people can get 4 upvotes a month. Each upvote may be worth 1.5 dollars. So 6 dollars just for drawing 4 comics a month. What could you buy for 6 USD in Venezuela?

Oh! I'm all for 'Pinky' stuff you know. But unfortunately, I am not a cartoonist nor an illustrator. I think that most of the time, I am even unable to draw a simple circle not even with a well rounded hollow cane to save my ass. Hahahaha

What could you buy for 6 USD in Venezuela?

Well at this moment, 6 USD in Venezuela barely could buy you a humble healthy meal a day in a decent restaurant. Maybe two meals a day if go to eat on a popular food shack somewhere instead. 🤕

If you have the desire to draw, you'll get better at it.

What is the average salary currently in Venezuela?

It seems only farmers can support themselves and their families with things they grow because money will not be enough to live on.

Am I right?

Haha ¡believe me! I've had the desire before and I tried, but not avail.

What is the average salary currently in Venezuela?

Well, until this last friday 26 the basic monthly salary was 18,000 VES ~ $3.46. However, recently in an attempt to battle hyperinflation and on the occasion of Worker's Day this next first of May. Maduro doubled the minimum wage ordered by decree this same day.

So, the minimum wage and basic salary went from 18,000 bolivars ($3.46 at the official exchange rate) to 40,000 bolivars ($7.69) aprox now.

It seems only farmers can support themselves and their families with things they grow because money will not be enough to live on.

Yeah, pretty much your hunch is right. However, farmers and those Venezuelans who can count with land and the necessary resources to grow their own food are a very small percentage of the entire population.

Thanks for explanation! I'm glad Steem and other crypto platforms exist so that Venezuelans can be helped at least in part.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67536.76
ETH 3771.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57