Bitterly disappointed

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

They say it is a parent's job to introduce children to disappointment. My parents did their job well.

I am not bitter about my upbringing, but of course it has had a profound effect on my life up until now. One thing I never had to do though, was rebel as there was no need, because to have a rebellion would require an adversary and my parents weren't present.

I may regret this later but, I want to raise a rebel, someone who will take her own path and discover who she is through choices made and experience. I want her to be disappointed by life enough that she says, "there must be a better way".

There must be a better way right? This can't possibly be the end of the road, the best we can possibly do as a species after 2 million years of continuous improvement. From our short life spans though we feel that we live a long time and things move so slowly, yet even when we look at the changes from just a generation or two before, they are remarkable , extraordinary.

Yet, we are still disappointed by out own position, still looking for more with many bitter at the life they lead while others have it better.

If only my parents had...

I don't subscribe to that line of thinking. I have washed my own clothes since seven years of age because otherwise, I'd be the stinky kid at school and, I chose not to be. As flawed as it is, my experience is my responsibility and I own it.

I think Steem is my rebellion of sorts, a fringe investment, a risk taken while others choose to take the safe path, make the safe bet. It isn't a rebellion against anything other than myself though as I am disappointed in some of the decisions I have made. I do not regret them though, they led me to today, they are part of who I will be tomorrow.

Maybe this is the path of personal evolution, disappointment in our performance with enough curiosity and drive to strive for better tomorrow. A continual rebellion against what we were to become what we will be.

I hope my daughter accepts herself for who she is, but never settles for what she is today to the point she is unwilling to find out what she could be tomorrow. I expect she will be disappointed by me and I hope she learns from it.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted while evolving)

Sort:  

Welcome to the club of cool parents. From what I read your daughter will

"accept herself for who she is, but never settles for what she is today to the point she is unwilling to find out what she could be tomorrow."

And you won't be a disappointment. You obviously care and support her for who she is/becomes. As long as that's your intention for her it will turn out fine. I raised my teen to be a rebel girl and she totally is. But she's also smart so she knows who/what to fight for and who/what to rebel against. I, as her parent, am definitely in the first group of people. If my perception of your online persona is only half accurate you will belong to the same group of amazing people and items.

I think every parent is going to disappoint their children in some way or another at some time. Perhaps later they will look back and be grateful for some of what they disliked though. I am lucky though, my daughter is as clever AF. =)

Of course. Everybody does at times. But you will also be disappointed in her. And I bet you have already been disappointed by her mother once. That's what people do. As long as we can make it up to them it doesn't matter. I know you know what a phoenix is supposed to do. ;)

I have been disappointed by her mother many times ;D

Frustrated by my daughter - how is it she can read the alphabet, translate between languages and make up songs ... But it is s battle to get her on the potty ?? :)

Mine lately invited a stranger she met on Instagram. He visited her when she was all alone back home. I was crazy disappointed that she wouldn't take better care of herself. Inviting strangers while she's alone? And if that wasn't problematic enough she decided to not even tell her friends. I couldn't believe how naive that was. We#Ve talked about these things. Like a million time. And she totally knows how stupid it was. … these kids! … Oh, and these mothers …

xD

And, by the way, I love each and every photo you take of her. With so much respect and adoration. They are beautiful and support the impression I have of you.

Thank you, I really enjoy taking photos of her, especially now because she plays a lot with it and has fun being silly in front of the camera.

Through Steem she will have a perfect chance to understand her father when she's old enough to do it. It's like diary you're writing in public where people can later take a look at what was going on with your life. And the way you do it is interesting too. Not only you give your readers a glimpse or two into your life but you present them with ideas that elevate conversation to a whole new level.

I think it is not only your daughter who is being raised as a rebel here...

Posted using Partiko Android

I am hoping that these words will become my saving grace in old age in her eyes :)

I wrote some things for her before she was born that I posted here when she was about 1 so that she can one day have it available to her, even if I lose the original. My wife lost her brother in law and left two young children and other than some pictures and passed down memories, they barely have anything of who he was. I am guessing under the same circumstances, my daughter will have a massive amount to read to find out where I stood in life.

Not only you give your readers a glimpse or two into your life but you present them with ideas that elevate conversation to a whole new level.

I think I have been lucky as while my parents might not have been there in many ways, they did raise questions and create conversations.

Do any of your parents have some online presence to remember them?

I think we all strive to provide what we wanted and thought we needed but yet we have gotten to a position to actually help our own get there. So maybe our parents also did the best they could with what they had,

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 62.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85