Painted with a broad brush into a corner

in #thoughts5 years ago

I can't seem to get to sleep. The problem of a night owl that has to get up early.

20190304_225645.jpg

When my dad was about 6, he watched his neighbours get beheaded; father, mother and two children. His friends. They were caught helping escaped prisoners of war flee the country by the Japanese who occupied their village, and were made an example of as a warning. The next day, my grandad went back to business as usual, helping prisoners flee.

My father has been a pacifist all his life. Many see him as weak.

People love to argue about morality and what is the right thing to do but, it depends on experience. There are parents who cut off their children's limbs and remove an eye to make them better beggars, others who sell their daughters into sex slavery to pay for food. I wonder, did they have that plan when the mother was pregnant, is that their ideal parenting methodology? I can't imagine it being so. Most likely, those parents hoped for much better for their children, circumstances didn't allow for it.

I heard a story recently about a woman in Kenya who before she was helped by a charity organisation, would go door to door trying to sell shirts. If she didn't manage a sale, she would sell her body on the way home for a bag of bread crumbs swept from a bakery floor that she would turn into a soup to feed her children. I do not think she planned to live a life like this when she was young.

There are a lot of sad stories in this world, do the people who live them deserve it? Do the people born in much better conditions deserve it? No one chooses where they are born, no one gets to choose what kind of parents they have. If you could, would you want to be able to choose? Would you go back and change knowing that to do so all who you are would be changed also? You would no longer be you. Is that a loss, or a gain?

Parents have a lot to answer for and most aren't equipped to cope, let alone live up to the standards of others. I know I am not and I also know, I don't care what others think about the way I raise my daughter because, I do the best I can every day.

Many disagree with the way I raise my daughter now. I have members of my family saying I am wrong to teach her to read and write, let the schools do it.

Fuck off.

This is not parenting via a mob, I do not make my parenting decisions on the opinions of the group. Look at the world, look at the shape of children, the food they eat, their attention spans, their lack of skill, awareness, compassion and patience. That is the average isn't it? The laws of the group come to pass.

The world is a mess and instead of facing it and understanding it, we shelter ourselves and our children from it so we never learn. We are quick to arms, we want drama, we want violence.

Perhaps if when we were six we watched the head of our friend be cut with a sword from his little body, we would have learned a lesson that would carry with us the next 80 years too.

Create some more popcorn moments, a little more drama - anything so as not to see the reality of this world - As It is just too long heartbreaking and, there is so little that can actually be done. We all need to feel like what we do is important, that it matters; even if it changes nothing of significance at all.

Tomorrow, life will go on and while some live in comfort enough to argue culture, others live in fear and horror of daily life itself.

Whether right or wrong, we are all doing our best however, doing better than today is still tomorrow's goal. Are we ourselves improving, or is that just what we expect from others?

I should sleep. Goodnight.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)
It

Sort:  

I like to read all of your posts about your daughter in @smallsteps and here too.

God bless her.

The colors are great... matching her gloves...

Now cheetah will come and down vote this comment.....

I have voted your post and resteemed it too..

I love your kid too much... take care of her... she is so cute...God bless you all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Doing the best you can for your children is what parenting is all about. We all sacrifice everyday so our young can benefit. No one should have the right to point fingers if you are doing the best you an. Everyone's methods of parenting are going to be different and don't believe in right or wrong as long as the child comes first.

Many disagree with the way I raise my daughter now. I have members of my family saying I am wrong to teach her to read and write, let the schools do it.

That's crazy there is nothing wrong with the kid getting a head start, if you know a 2nd language teach them that too!

We seem to do the same things over and over again. The past keeps comming back. Its like we are on generational cycles. Only differance is we are more proficient at spreading it . After all the elite know how you should live your life better then you.

Home schooling is a great way to go. So many benefits. I have friends that do that and have wonderful children. Yes we all come from different experiences and that is what molds us into who we are today. It is like putting different chemicals together that of course produce vastly different results. Thanks @tarazkp

My father has been a pacifist all his life. Many see him as weak.

All I have to say is that the cost of peace is forever cheaper than the price of war

That is a tough picture to visualize at the start of a life! It only makes me appreciate my journey and how easy I have had it relative to so many in this world even those that are still behind a veil of a harsh reality. Safe travel my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What’s wrong with teaching her to read and write? 🤨

Posted using Partiko iOS

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94