Punish me shortly

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

As most realize by now, I have a size problem. I am too big or, is it too long? Whichever, it doesn't fit into everyone's ... schedules. Because of this i am going to try to produce some shorter content and perhaps take @michealb's advice:

just space it out, use bigger font, add more pictures and i wouldn't know any different haha

This is a picture of a tree that sits alone in a field about 300 metres from my home. The feeling of it changes with the seasons but it is fast losing its position as apartment buildings close in on its domain.

If you are interested in reading a post from about a year ago looking at some of the reasons I have ended up where I am with content delivery, you can have a read of this one about being painted into a corner. Using links is good, as is referencing people in quotes, but don't go overboard.

How am I doing with the font size @michealb?

This is a picture of a candle I took around Christmas time which reminds me of some kind of demons eye. While I don't have the perfect picture for every occasion, I do try and match the feel of an image to the content.

Talking about having relevant content, a couple years ago we were taking some "1 year" photos of @smallsteps in a park and this little squirrel got curious and came to have a look from a nearby branch.

This is one of the pics:

As you can probably tell, I am just having a little bit of fun as it is getting to the end of the work day and it has been a very long week.

I do actually want to produce some shorter content but after such a long time, it feels like if i do I am going to be punished as if I am getting lazy and becoming a shitposter. I haven't missed a day posting and it has generally been multiple times per day for around two years but I am unsure the exact date.

According to steemitboard.com by @arcange,

I have had

  • 4 posts in a day 288x
  • a post every day of the week 114x
  • and a post every day of the month 25x

That is a lot of work by anyone's Steemdards, which means it is a good time to add a picture of some trucks and an excavator.

Ok. The saddest part of this post is that it has probably taken me longer to put this together than it would have if I was to type out 1500 words. Of course, the speed of delivery is not a very good indicator of much in this world as it comes down to what is actually delivered. A professional cricket player that plays a game for 5 days still earns less than Usain Bolt who performs for 10 seconds. "I spent 4 hours on this post" is useless if no one is interested in what the post contains.

When we talk about the content and its value to the platform and then cross reference that with what is delivered and at what level, getting rewarded anything at all for a lot of what is delivered is quite incredible. Over time and as use cases spread, quality is going to be determined more and more by niche consumers who are interested in that niche.

For now, find something that works for you and gets you through but remember, this is a platform that encourages taking multiple approaches with contribution, investment, development and consumption all part of the model. For the vast majority to be successful here, they need to understand that what they produce still needs an audience and if what is produced is not to the audience's tastes, it is unlikely to ever earn much at all.

I won't make those paragraphs larger, they are too long, but here is a picture of a light at the end of the tunnel. Stare into it and take in all its profundity.

Did you find the answers you seek?

Well, I should head home. I have to run to the pharmacy and pick up some medication for @smallsteps. While people might not read long texts, while they might prefer to consume this, that or another thing. When it comes to content production, if you want it to be read and supported, it needs to resonate with an audience that finds it interesting and who are willing to place some value upon it. On Steem for the most part, you are your own publicist until you can convince others that your content is worth them publicizing - some understand this better than others, some have it easier than others, some have to write a fuckload of posts before much happens at all.

Entitlement gets you nowhere.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Lol. maybe in 10 years time I will need the bigger writing to see clearly. I hope not as I value my eyes. I did one post yesterday as one of my typing fingers had an altercation with a car door. This morning I felt a little guilty and got one out earlier than normal so as not to miss the 2 a day in my head. Crazy, but once you start something it does become normal. I noticed you missing the other day and were down on your posts. That is life though and sometimes there is another life outside this place. I hope the Taraz household has a great weekend and some much needed rest.

I did one post yesterday as one of my typing fingers had an altercation with a car door.

If that happened to me, that would be one of the two fingers

I noticed you missing the other day and were down on your posts.

Yeah, there was one day that got too busy :)

Have a good weekend too.

This is different. Unnatrail
I like the Tarazkp. The thought process. The questions.

I understand that things change also.

You will always have my support. No matter what !!!!!!!!!

I will mix it up a little but I am pretty sure I won't manage too many short posts ;D

I beleive we have had this conversation 3 times already . Hahaha
Like I said , I am

Well shite nurse Steve just walked in

I hope he is tender.

The occupational therapy people turn their report in and . Wow I don,t know but the Gov’t flinched. Hahahaha

I got the mask and some other things. I will try and get a post done.

Lots of tears this afternoon. 1st time I seen all the brain scans .

How is the little one
Temp
Hunger. Fluids. Vitals
Follow up apt.

You give that girl a hug from me. She is MY hero

Hahaha do you know how to make a piece of meat tender.

The occupational therapy people turn their report in and . Wow I don,t know but the Gov’t flinched. Hahahaha

You might be why there is a 23T dollar debt :D

Lots of tears this afternoon. 1st time I seen all the brain scans .

Hopefully they will leave you with the important parts, the parts that steem well :)

She is doing good, stool a fever but the cheeky mood hasn't swayed.

Hahahaha
I sure have cost more then most Over the years .

Yea . She reaches out to her base of love . What a heart. Lots of hugs required. Lots
Keep the fluids going
That little girl will be alright and I can’t wait to see her take her place in years to come

Still too long (for me) but I like the format more.

Yes I realize my posts are no example lol

I like the "look and feel" of it. Kind of like a professional typesetter created it.

Well that was different. I think I prefer the long text! :0D

You sound like my wife.

That's what my wife said! Oh no, wait...

Hahaahaha! :D good one you two! :)
Anyways, you really can't satisfy everyone - go with your feelings and post what you like. :)
And this post is more like comedyopenkeyboard ;)

Lol. Comedyopenkeyboard,I like that!

I will always post what I like. Gonna be interesting with free flags :D

Why would you want to change your format? To please some critic? I don't know about you but I would only pay attention to this critic if he/she would have created a body of works such as yours rain or shine for 2 years straight.

If you start publishing short posts with lots of pictures in them, then you will become like all of us who do that. Now with your thought-provoking essays you might be onto something original.

Unless you really want to publish shorter posts with more pictures... in which case, you're the boss!

Posted using Partiko Android

No, I am just having a little bit of fun, I do it from time to time. I do plan on doing shorter posts but I have been "planning" it for two years and haven't managed it often. =)

I enjoy the writing process too much to only post short posts and I still believe there is more value in me doing it the way I have been rather than maximizing some kind of earning return. At the end of the day, I know where I am comfortable.

I don't believe that on Steem this change would translate into more ROI. Too many people have accounts will very little stake to make a difference.

So do the thing that only you can do best and ignore everybody.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, I agree. I prefer to spend my time writing about the things I enjoy, and sometimes that means teasing myself a little too :)

Size doesn’t matter... as long as they enjoy it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is what I keep imagining too. ;D

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 15500 replies. Your next target is to reach 16000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I...don't know how I feel about this XD

@nonameslefttouse is pro at font size changes, perhaps you could ask for tips ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75