Travelling without moving

in #thoughts5 years ago

Not a bad sunrise view from the station platform this morning. I am off to the Helsinki office to meet up with some colleagues to go over some project work. I have been working for 6 weeks in this company now and it feels like it has been years as I already have way too much project work piled up, even though I barely know what I am meant to be doing.

20190214_082939.jpg

I have the problem from experience that makes me quite adaptable across topics which means that I also am interested in many sides of the business from the global strategy to the procedures of answering customer ticket requests, and I am curious.

20190214_082822.jpg

Thankfully, curiosity is rewarded on this particular company which is a large part of the reason I took the position in the first place. At the moment though, curiosity has led me into projects that are a little outside of my scope of work responsibilities. I don't mind this but as I am still very much in training, I am unsure if it will be detrimental in my getting up to speed quickly attempt.

20190214_082744.jpg

Although, based on job requirements, perhaps it will help me get a much better understanding of what is actually needed and where I could possibly take it once dug in. I am still finding my role outside of the job tasks as I think that it is the value added aspect where my strength will lay, as well as my competitive advantage.

20190214_075659.jpg

It is much like Steem where the best approach in my opinion is finding what you are good at, working out the kinds of things you like and then, combining the two to create something of interest and use. It isn't always clear cut and can be messy to begin, however it can lead to not only adding a high degree of value but also making the personal experience interesting and rewarding in its own right.

My colleague who started with me has an alternate path that is much more narrow than my own but, it is in an area she excels and loves. We both have the same job description yet, the way we approach it is vastly different which I think is again, much like Steem - Same chain, own way.

Success for a group doesn't require everyone doing the same thing. The same general way might be enough or in the case of Steem, as many different ways as possible. Many will fail in their attempt, but that is not a problem in a strong community and can actually reinforce the network.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Different approaches are often also leveraged from teams also complementing each other. This provides and interesting mix of perspectives many time when working in teams. Much like Steem, those that are more influential will prevail and lead the change while other adapt.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Much like Steem, those that are more influential will prevail and lead the change while other adapt.

I need to start finding my rhythm at work as at the moment I have so many ideas but not enough organisational knowledge to get them onboard :)

One thing I will definitely miss will be the Finnish sky in the mornings.

It is nice when it comes at a normal time of day. :)

when you double click on vote without checking what the % is at, woops

Having a broad view is a good thing and make you an asset. But never forget what they expect of you. Which is your base, Fundamentals.

Sounds like this is a nice fit for you. Nice to hear

The what they expect is a challenge at the moment as there is no clear guidelines at this point which I quite enjoy but it makes it a little bit of guess work to align. It does seem to be a pretty decent fit thus far though.

I see why you say it is like steem. High learning curve and you will not learn it all. So the object is to learn all you can and implement it. Then keep going and learning.

Just try not to piss anyone off LOL

Diversity within a working group beings new perspective to the task.

There is definitely a lot of diversity within the group and it seems they are keen on leveraging it rather than creating cookie cutter employees. I am hoping that it continues this way as it retains the startup feel and energy.

Actualy so beautiful photos thanks for share

those sunrise colors are to die for!

I-m sure they-re very lucky to have you =) standing out and going beyond responsibilities is always good in my opinion, as long as you can still do what your original requirements are

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.293 which ranks you at #222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 254 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71