Worth doing well

in #thoughts5 years ago

I don't shitpost often. Well maybe I do. It depends on your perspective I guess. I put effort into every post though, and probably more than many.

You probably know the saying, if it's a job worth doing, it is worth doing right and this is how I see posting on Steem. The worth isn't the dollar value though, but that is one of the factors that increasingly comes into play the further the project goes as a successful outcome is a working economy owned, backed and governed by the participants.

I wonder the last time a community of people were able to build their own economy without the reliance on a central authority of control. I wonder how many communes of people who chose to separate from the larger society and set up on their own survived longterm. I wonder how many ideals failed and how many ended up forming what they had been running from in the first place.

When it comes to some things though, an ideal alone is not enough, timing is also required. In regards to the organization of a community, some factors are necessary, some technologies, some conditions. How large can a nomadic community be before it settles down and builds a fixed location, a town, a city? How manageable are resources of tribe when people do not know all of the other members?

I see blockchain as a technology advancement that utilizes the internet spread to question resource allocation and unknown participants in a way that offers new opportunity to reimagine old problems. It is highly interesting to be a part of, one of the early converts to a new tool.

I was saying to my brother the other day that whether we are successful or not, the participation has value as it is striving toward improvement.

One day my daughter might live in a better world because of it and be able to track her father's words to near the start of blockchain history and be thankful.

Or, perhaps we will fail and the world continues to degrade and she will be able to track her father's words and say, at least you tried.

I listened to a German philosopher who grew up after the second World War say that because in the schools they didn't shy away from the history of the horror enacted, "there comes a time in every child's life where they ask their parents, did you know?

I wonder how many parents answered truthfully?

For me, I do not lie to my daughter. If she asks a question I answer to the best of my ability in a way that I think she could understand it. Sometimes it is awkward.

"Daddy, how do boys poo because they have a willy?"

Three year olds aren't very good with anatomy, but what help is it for her if I lie about the questions she has on her mind, how does satisfying her curiosity with nonsense answers encourage her next question? Make a habit of lying to children and it is a slippery slope to manipulated thinking and dishonest discussion.

It might avoid awkwardness though.

"I want the best for my child (as long as it doesn't cause me discomfort)"

But here we are on a blockchain that records our history with accounts like rows of houses on streets within a city owned by a community of familiars and strangers. The doors of each house are open and anyone can walk in and anyone can see all that has taken place inside from the first block laid.

How many are honest representations of the world, how many are lying to the future's children?

It is an interesting look at the world because while their might be consistency in the house, those who are familiar with the resident may recognize the inconsistencies, the flaws between what is said and what is done, fiction and reality.

"I didn't know" loses trust when what one knew is immutable and transparent.

Regardless of outcomes, I hope that when old enough, my daughter will have a chance to walk through this city, down these streets and explore the house of her father. Perhaps it will answer some of her questions, provide some kind of support or at the very least lead her to understand, that I saw this as a job worth doing, and I tried to do it well.

Taraz
[a Steem original ]


Onboarding

Sort:  

Telling you kids the truth even when it's uncomfortable is what parenting is about. Naturally as you said it's important to think about the age of your child and speak to them in terms they can understand.

The moon is made of cheese, Santa brings presents. I like the idea of "magic" but there has to be some thought behind it at times to make sure it doesn't move toward creating belief on illusion. Imagination can still be encouraged.

We do Santa, but these days kids know at a young age that it's not real. That is a fun tradition and I have no issue with it. Moon made of cheese is pretty silly and never understood that one or many others that people tell kids.

In our house there is a lot of creative time built in. Arts of all kinds, writing their own stories, creating new words, and any other way I can get them to be creative when at home since school is designed to turn them into mindless robots. Those with a creative mind can change the world.

My son frequently asks, or comments, that "Daddy, we're boys. We both have a penis. Mommy and [sister's name] are girls. They don't have a penis."

And my frequent response is: "Yes, son. That's true."

Oh the honesty of toddlers ..

My daughter asked as I changed her nappy pointing to her girl parts, "What is this called?" I caught me off-guard so from the age of 1, it is Vagina. I was ready for the boy parts questions.

She has such a strong grasp of language that ii is difficult sometimes to remember that she is only three, but it makes for some awesome discussions.

I remember reading that small children (before it is schooled out of them) are naturally philosophical and ask philosophical questions. It's great if she has the language to do that. Challenging for us, maybe (my stepson asked me one day if I was day-dreaming about heaven ... that was a conversation and a half)

I have heard the same and wonder if curiosity of our world is hardwired. The schooling out happens to too many I think and perhaps with the changing ai and automation, education for employment might not be as necessary and instead it will be education for empowerment.

Sounds like a future post :)

Was it a fun conversation?

Had to power up the synapses :)

I bet. There is no tougher crowd.

Yeah, and like you say, you want to do it well.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 comments. Your next target is to reach 25000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Leaving a permanent record for my kids was one of the main benefits that drew me here.

I don’t think any of your posts are shit posts.

Ahh toddler questions are awesome 🤣

And that I want the best for my child as long as it didn’t cause me discomfort thing ergh I saw that earlier today and it’s still making me mad.

And when you put it like that my kids are going to get zero use out of a blockchain for family history purposes 😅 perhaps one day when there are private blockchains or similar kind of technology for family history recording purposes 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09