You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lighting fires - dousing flames

in #thoughts5 years ago

I worked at a company once where it seemed like all we did was put out fires. They didn't plan ahead, so a lot of problems were created that didn't need to be. We got a new Ops Manager and he said he wasn't going to put out fires like the last person did. I thought, "great, he's got a plan to get us ahead so we won't need to put out fires." I was wrong. He just didn't help put out the fires. I didn't stay at that company much longer.

Sort:  

He just didn't help put out the fires.

Chaos theory management 101

I didn't stay at that company much longer.

Did you flick matches on the way out? :)

Chaos theory management 101

The problem was that there was chaos being caused by management and their decisions (or lack thereof). Rather than taking responsibility for the issues, they just hoped we'd figure it all out. Just lazy and incompetent.

Did you flick matches on the way out? :)

Ha ha! No, not worth it. I just wanted to be done with them.

Just lazy and incompetent.

Those that excuse their lack of ability on chaos theory :D

It was chaos that caused it, but not because it couldn't be predicted, just that they didn't do the work to map the potential issues and then correctly address them when they occurred. Rather than planning to succeed, they failed to plan, thereby planning to fail. They would have failed if I hadn't worked 3 times as hard as I needed to. It was frustrating to spend most of my time putting out fires rather than getting ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97