Thoughts from a Balcan Bus | Decisions

in #thoughtsfroma5 years ago (edited)
Three hours down, nine to go.

IMG_20190711_101301446.jpg

I figured I would make a thoughts from a post. It's been a while since I freewrite like this and I miss it.

Freewriting is my favorite kind of writing when it comes to steem posts and a lot of people have told me they really like them. For a writer, this is music to my ears but lately I haven't been able to do it much - or not at all pretty much - and I hate it, but I've been dedicating my time to other steem related stuff. As a friend of mine says, when steem moons there'll be time for travelling and writing post bullshit, focus on building right now.

He's right, it's building time. To build projects, relationships, partnerships and to build character. I think this is the worst time for me in terms of Steem price =/= value. Some of you may know and other might not but I invested 25k USD on steem back when it was worth .82 cents. Back then it looked like it couldn't go lower than that. Right now, I'm afraid we haven't seen the bottom and altough it's temporary, right now I live off of selling some Steem every now and then.

I don't want to sell. I'm not going to sell. But I need to make a living, even if it's a low budget nomadlike living like be and I can survive with 5 dollars a day anywhere on the planet. Which is exactly why I'm taking this Balcan bus.

Back in early 2010's I had a corporate job. A very good corporate job in terms of USD value and superb monetary value for Mexican standards. I used to do financial and strategic planning management for the biggest retail company in the continent.

Life was good, but money was the one in charge of all my decisions and corporate lobbying was my main drive; my free soul, my adventurous spirit, my thrill and adrenaline nature... They were just but a shade of what they once were. I was not myself anymore.

I went away. I traveled for a long, long period of time. Perhaps longer than what most people could even imagine, let alone endure. If I was able to, if I had the money, the energy, the passion and the time, or at least three out of those four, I would keep doing it.

But I think it's time for some routine and a normal life, at least for the next few years.

Which is exactly why I'm in this bus right now. I'm on my way to a job interview. A job where my old self fits the profile perfectly and I'm more than qualified to kick it's ass.

I'm not sure I'll get it, but hey, wish me luck will ya?

I have nothing to read about and one can only work so much while riding a bus sitting in a very small seat so I maybe I'll post some more thoughts later. I'm going to turn off my data so I don't run out of battery too fast - there are no chargers outlets here - but I'll reconnect later to reply to comments here :)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What an exciting feeling it is! )) Going towards something different and new, and unknown... )
I had that feeling a year ago, when quite "good" job I work at during 10 years for something completely unknown. I can say I am happy now, and just wish I did it earlier.

Good luck and all the best!!

Definitely, choices and where they lead us are great, especially when it's something new like this time for me!
Oh wow, it must have been a very difficult choice to make and I'm glad you are satissfied with it, I wish I can say the same about mine soon!

Nomad Soul leaving the nomad world? No way! No me gusta amigo :( But as long as you feel it this way, good luck with your new life episode ;) Btw I am not in Playa anymore either... just returned back to Europe.

Yeah man, i should change my username to asedentarysoul :P
Oh really? Back in Czech Republic?

@anomadsoul, thank you for sharing your life story with us! It was really interesting to read!

When did you bought STEEM @.82 cents?

Man, GOOD LUCK on the interview!

Thanks for the well wishes man! I really hope it brings me good news in the near future. I bought hmm, it was probably in September-October last year, don't really rememebr the exact date.

Good luck, @anomadsoul! I really hope you get it. Yes, there will be time in the future for chilling, writing, and living the dream. I feel it! One must eat, live, have the freedom money brings us to travel and have a nice dinner out from time to time. Still working my corporate job and trying to build stake at the same time. Tough balancing act, but I’m not ready to give up my paycheck quite yet! Crossing fingers and toes that you get the job!

Me too! I am really in a tight spot right now and having a Fiat job, while it's not ideal for me, is the only choice I have, especially with so much happening behind the scenes that do not allow me to cash out almost any steem due to investments inside the blockchain.

Thanks so much for the luck wished, I hope to habe a positive feedback soon from the interview :)

Good luck with the job interview.

... No offense mate, but at least you got to live your dream funded by steem 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah man definitely, and the positive side is that thanks to my in-chain activity, I am still in green numbers vs my initial investment (in terms of steem, in terms of fiat im dead haha). Thanks for the luck wished, I hope it went good and I get a nice call in a few days.

I wish you all the luck in the world! No worries you find what fits you 💕☘

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much! It went great and I'm just waiting for feedback, altough that means around 2 weeks of waiting haha.

Your getting a 9-5 job? I'm shocked... I really am.., you are my nomadic guru..., hope it's not for long, don't stay in the same place too long... you keep saying.

Yeah man, sadly/thankfully I am going all-in on steem, meaning that I'm pushing all of my available steem into projects, meaning I'm not able to cash out anything and I won't have any liquid for grocery food and cheap traveling. I definitely hope it's not for long, but this job means at least two years of committment so there's that... Good to hear from you and also great to read your Road to Steem Fest posts man, I don't comment a lot but I do read them, looking forward to meet you again in Thailand.

I don't comment a lot but I do read them, looking forward to meet you again in Thailand.

Will see you there, and please look over the post by @goblinknackers about SF4. He's a little late posting but will be coming with me and is new to the platform.

nooooo waayyyyyyyy, i didn't see that one coming!! Good luck and let us know how it all goes :)

Looking forward to reading the post where you kicked ass at the interview!!!

Best of luck.

Oh my, I do hope I get to write such a post mate! :D Thanks for the good wishes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85