If Wishes Were Fishes, The Steem Blockchain's Headquarters Would Be A Moon Base!

in #three-wishes5 years ago (edited)

What would you do if you were granted 3 wishes?

The standard line is "ask for more wishes" but I've never liked that idea. Seems greedy and maybe a little crass. I mean, don't look a gift unicorn in the mouth, is my motto! So far, I've never had to put it into practice but as a theory it seems pretty solid! You gotta think around corners and if someday, someone hands me the random Gifticorn, I will know just what to do.

The hangup here

is that anything I could possibly wish for, I already have. And if it's not here already, it's most definitely in the mail. So, who am I to force the expedited arrival of what is right, just because my short short attention span and self-importance says I need to want shit right now? What a brat!

Wishing, to me (while it's wholly delightful to hold passionate, enthusiastic hope now and then) is just a lot of mental chit chat. And some smart guy once said that chit chat is the lowest form of conversation. Having recently been shown after diving headlong into one of @frankbacon's mind-altering rabbit holes that I'm above that useless shit, I tend to look gleefully down on it. But then, I do love a fun challenge so here I am.

I started noticing a few steemians, whose blogs consistently bring me a smile, posting about the #three-wishes challenge that @guiltyparties started. I was frankly a little sad no one tagged me so I just decided to volunteer (like I do). When I set out to do this, I thought it'd be a shortpost but it turns out, not so much.

While reading @mayb's three-wishes post she kicked the old thought pumpkin into overdrive with this astutely wise caveat -

Yeah, sorry! I HAVE to change the rules!!!
For I know the secret to this universe is frequency. A desire, a wish, a beg … all those things embody the lack of something. I don’t want to send out the frequency of a wish, instead I would like to manifest three things that one could say I wish for … Sorry, I am German. I care about the details. ;)


That's a really great point! Thanks for that, lady! It was right on time! But with that in mind, I have something to add!


I don't want to manifest my desires. I want to, from here on out, just live fulltime on Thatside of the want. So, that's what I'm doing now... and really, now is all there is.

Here's the part where things take a turn for the immensely powerful

Have you ever been squarely in the middle of some horrific situation and wished with all your heart that things were better, or fixed? ...or even just different? Like, did you ever wish for something slightly less horrible to take the place of the circumstances you found yourself in (or even created on your own)? Sure you have. Who hasn't, right? But, looking back on it now (however it ended up) do you remember how bad it felt to long for relief while it was going on?

I would be willing to bet Futureyou no longer feels as strongly about it as Inthemomentyou did while it was going on. Time, they say, heals all wounds. This brings me to my wishes ambitions.

  1. To be the best kind of friend to my loved ones (including me) today, while it counts! That way, tomorrow (if we get a tomorrow - it is not promised) when we look back, we'll all think about how terrifically we passed through this bad thing or that hard time and how I was a part of making it lovely.

  2. To feel the love of those who I connect with, and to never take that for granted.

  3. To never lose my ability to see the treasure within my current circumstances whether they are easy and good, or difficult and no fun at all.

To be really honest though, If I could have just one wish, instead of three, this would be it.

I am tagging @fulltimegeek, @lyndsaybowes, and @berniesanders because I'd really love to hear their take on this project.

Sort:  

great song
you wish beanie was here?
well hes losing all his followers he might show up for crumbs lol
good post wolfie
cheers

Neat-o!

image.png

I do my best to live in the now.. although if I had wishes to waste I'd be tempted to use one for perpetual summer...

Ooo! Good idea! I'll have to keep that in mind next time the question gets asked.

I really like that attitude. I am always trying to remind myself to live in the now, instead of some hoped for wish!

You're the Yes M'am! Thanks for the recognition. Oh, and for this video that I haven't found time for, yet. But I was intrigued when I heard the first tunes and what the narrator was trying to tell me …

I'm a little off this week since I am clearing up the house. But when I come back, I'll promise to

BÄMMplosion.png, sister!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59