You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hong Kong Protests - How The West Spins A Story & My Disappointment in Alt-Media Coverage

in #threespeak5 years ago

I've spoken with my friend Avi Yemini who actually flew to Hong Kong to talk to the people on the ground, including scoring some significant interviews (and the viral "don't trust China, China is arsehole" sound bite). Obviously you can't figure out the whole big picture from walking around on the streets ALONE, but neither can you get a full picture looking at internet videos and reports.

Hong Kong can't "vote out" people: that's the point. They never had a completely autonomous democracy even under British Rule but they were told they would have something similar by China.

Perhaps, even though I'm well versed in the history of State and other US department meddling all around the world, I'm still not quite cynical enough to see the Hong Kong protests as so stage managed from afar as you. I've yet to get that vibe here. And I really do think that many people, especially those born and brought up outside the freedoms many of us still believe we have, yearn for the same ones we seem to be giving up on too fast. This is certainly the vibe I get from my eastern European and former Soviet friends (I know many people in Israel in these categories).

Nevertheless, keep watching that government of yours in America, it is still overrun with malign actors bad 'm sure.

Sort:  

The Western-leaning citizens of the Ukraine also yearned for more freedom and separation from Russian influence. I don't dispute that.

Doesn't change the fact that the US backed violent, Neo-Nazi elements to cause chaos and destabilization to get the coup completed. We've all seen the photos of John McCain with them. I remember the videos of masked rioters randomly attacking people and storming government buildings.

I'm not saying the protests don't have support. But the starry-eyed coverage as if this is simply organic and there aren't elements pushed to bring in Chinese troops for international coverage is too much for me.

The links to US State and NGOs is too out in the open.

Even Tiananmen Square had elements of US influence within the student protests that undermined the peaceful parts of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fear (of) the Soviets doesn't excuse the actions of the West.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67