Pennsif - The Early Years - The Church Fete & Fancy Dress Competition 1965

in #threespeak4 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Just found this older movie I missed first time round.

This was my local church fete in 1965. I was five.

I was a wizard in the fancy dress competition - long before the days of Harry Potter.

Rock on wizards - but I didn't win...

Looking at old fancy dress contests is always interesting as it reflects the cultural pinpoints of the time.

Steptoe and Son starring Harry H Corbett and Wilfrid Brambell was a popular BBC TV sitcom.

With the rise in travel to sunny Spain bullfighting was exotic and new for Britain.

The singer in 'The Blue Stone Sapphires' looks rather young compared with the other members of the band. I wonder what song they were playing?

Dancing of all varieties was popular - ballet, some sort of sailor thing, and...

I remember a number of the children in the fancy dress. I wonder what ever happened to them?


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Following me always vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43