Steempicker Garage Sale & Thrifting Haul for 8 September, '18

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7807.JPG

Wow, I managed to grab a pretty decent garage sale haul on Saturday.

I spent about $200 to obtain all these items - and then some not pictured!

I even managed to grab about $20 worth of silver for just $5. Plus, I picked up a new Minn Toka trolling motor too.

Anyway, you don't want to hear me blab on so let's get to it.


IMG_7808.JPG

I've been on a yarn kick lately and jumped on this trash bag of yarn for $10. It's not any highly sought after yarn, but one bundle has already sold and the rest will bring in a good profit.


IMG_7809.JPG

Another garage sale I went to later in the day had already sold most everything. The owners just said whatever is left out is free. Well, they had this box of textbooks so I took the ones that looked decent. Later, I looked their value up.

Only the top 4 books are worth anything - BUT as a bookmark they had left a $1 note. So I was already up a buck. Not bad.

The 4 books I have listed are actually in the realm of $125 in total value and they all can ship media mail for cheap. If they all sell, I should clear in the neighborhood of $90-$100. Not bad for a free box.


IMG_7810.JPG

I picked this unit up for $10 and it already sold to a nearby town for $80! Love those quick flips.


IMG_7815.JPG

At that same garage sale, I picked up these three radiation detectors. One is a complete set and sells for about $65. The others should bring in some decent cash too. I haven't listed these yet, but I paid $35 for all of them.


IMG_7812.JPG

Still at that same garage sale I picked this selective levelmeter up for just $1! I have it listed for $200 and already have 2 watchers. The other levelmeters on eBay are listed for at least $300 but they aren't fast sellers. I am in for just $1 so a quick sale is what I am after.


IMG_7811.JPG

I picked up the Cougar car badge at the above garage sale. It was a really good stop.

The copper mugs are "Gregorian copper" and sell for about $10 each. I paid $8 total for all 6 at the end of day estate sale when things were 50% off.


IMG_7813.JPG

I paid $10 for the in-wall speakers, which was probably too much as they aren't any name brand. At garage sales you kinda just have to guess sometimes. I had been watching a YouTube video in which another reseller was saying how well he was selling his in-wall speakers - but his were Sony. I should still eek out a profit though.

The OPMOD bag is a tactical sling/messenger bag in really good condition. Paid $3.

Sneaking in the back are brown bowling shoes. They were in a free box at that really good garage sale. They are actually a pretty decent brand and I have them listed for $35.


IMG_7814.JPG

I paid $1 for the Hooked on Phonics set. They are vintage cassettes but they still sell for around $30.

The ReGeneration device was $10 and sells for over $50 used.

The Corel and the Edge 21 was at a Humane Society thrift store that was having a 50% off sale. They were $8.50. Once I got home I opened up the taped up Corel and found that there was no serial key, which sucks. Ugh.

The Edge 21 is actually a Spanish-English court translation course. The full course has workbooks and sells for $200! I think the CD set is good, but mine is missing one CD. I should still see a good return from my $1 investment.

The financial independence course is from Joe Dominguez - the author of "Your Money Or Your Life!" This is for me and I might sell it after I have listened to it. It is cassettes and books inside the case.


IMG_7816.JPG

This was a really nice condition PS2 with three microphones and 7 games for $20.


IMG_7817.JPG

Some computer games, a Dr Who shower curtain that was a Geek Fuel Exclusive, and a Whelen UPS690. I paid $15 for all of it. The UPS690 sells for about $40 new like this one is.


Minn Kota trolling motor.JPG

At the 50% off thrift store, I found this Minn Kota Endura C2 55 lb trolling motor - new without box. I paid $65. It is listed locally and on eBay. I hope someone around me buys it as I don't feel like Frankensteining a box for it.


20180909_234920.jpg20180909_234943.jpg

At the 50% off thrift store there was a box of souvenier spoons. Knowing that they can be silver, I dug around. This was the only one I found that was marked 925.

At the garage sale with the PS2, I picked up this sterling silver heart tray for just $2.50 (the same price I paid for the spoon).

Silver Scrap calc.png

Even at these low silver prices, that is $5 into $20 worth of silver.


Thanks for reading!

Did you go out picking this weekend? What did you find?

Sort:  

I haven't had the chance to go "thrifting" for a while now, but I've picked up some great bargains over the years.

Do you melt your silver yourself, or do you take it somewhere as is and sell it?

I'm a stacker so I just throw it in my pirate treasure chest.

When it hits a new high and people are going crazy for silver, then I will sell. :D

Nice. I was recently introduced to the possibilities of Silver stacking when I won a prize here on Steemit which consisted of a sweet looking silver coin. I guess I best start paying more attention to the random cutlery boxes and souvenir spoons at garage sales and charity shops.

Already melted the gold?
Some great finds!

Cheers,
Peter

It was actually just plated :(

Oops not funny 😔
Still curious to see you year report! People would be amazed about the profit you will have made!

Hi - how's life...

I just wanted to.say I think I finally got yr steem name - as in 'get on the steem train'...

Nice one... I'm a bit slow mw btw!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeap, that's why I chose it :D

Only took me a year! I'd been thinking it was something to do with early retirement instead!

Posted using Partiko Android

Man, posts like this make me miss garage sale hunting in the states! There isn't anything good like that here. I'm lucky if I find an unbroken Pyrex at a sale around here...so I just don't go. Perhaps if we lived near Panama City it would be better finds...

Yea, but you are chilling in Panama so I guess you are winning? :D

@getonthetrain I Love URBAN Mining Nice Job on all the SILVER Pieces !!!

Very nice finds! I want that Dr. Who shower curtain. 😂💜

Posted using Partiko Android

Buy it! Lol

https://www.ebay.com/itm/223137337790

Or you can send me 20 STEEM and message me your address on discord.

This post was an adventure, so finding it all must've been even better. Looks like a lot of fun. I still don't seem to find Sterling, but you're starting to fire up my competitive spirit to look for way too long in the silverware bins to try to come up with something.

The $1 for the R-60 is crazy. Why did they sell it for virtually nothing?

For the ReGeneration, just in case you don't, I recommend that you charge it up IF there's an internal battery, to see how long it retains the charge. Older units tend to have their internal batteries become worthless over time without use, even if they seem to work in the cradle or for a minute after.

I left my phone is someone's car on Sunday, so I have to go thrifting bootleg without it for the day using my experience and gut feel. I'll get it back in time for the curbs at night which is where I really need it most.

I have too much stuff from the curbs I'm still processing/cleaning/fixing before I can post on it, but I will soon. Given your textbooks, one teaser was an AP economics high school textbook I found in a box of curb books at the end of my trip out on Friday, listed when I got home, and it sold for $99 in 5 hours. Also found 3 sets of CFA books in the same bag for 2016, 2017 and 2018. Those are good money.

The $1 for the R-60 is crazy. Why did they sell it for virtually nothing?

I don't think they new what they had plus they just wanted it gone. The ladies husband died a few months ago and she was cleaning out everything. Her first day of the yard sale was Friday and she said she had three pickers helping her bring everything out of the garage so they could buy stuff.

The regeneration is strictly an AC model.

Oh, your picking posts are like the one thing I lust after! lol

Yes!!!! Just found 925 silver in the recycling for the third time ever - an antique decorated floral thimble. The other two times were art deco cuff earrings I sold to Japan for about $200 and a Tiffany's pen in the box with its pouch.

I think I'm just scratching the surface in this spot where an entire apartment was tossed with lots of stuff dating back to the 1950s. Law of attraction. More to come.

Nice, I remember the post about the Tiffany pen.

Nice photography, ilike this blog also

Posted using Partiko Android

My wife is a HUGE garage sell person. She finds quality things for penny on the dollar and has been doing if for decades with her Mom.

But you got some good stuff. Thanks for sharing my friend :)

@getonthetrain, It's reflecting as you've got an effective bundles of products and for sure your hunt always collect one or other things which reflects as unique.

And i hope and wish that you will going to make effective profits from this. And good to hear about the Silver and it's sounding as, you've got an profitable piece of silver.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85