Thursday Treats: Gumdrop Cake

in #thursdaytreats5 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I started a new tag #thursdaytreats. I will upvote and resteem the post of anyone who participates and uses their first tag as #thursdaytreats.

Thursday Treats could be what you had for a meal, a recipe, a special drink...whatever you can eat or drink.

I’m pretty laid back so no strict rules except the norm- text and photos original.

Putting your link on this post would be great so I don’t miss you.


>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<



This time of year everyone likes to have some tradition treats ready for family and company when they stop by for a visit.

The colourful Gumdrop Cake is a festive cake and if you don’t like fruitcake, try this light cake.


image


I mentioned in an early post about finding my mother’s well-worn cookbook that I had tucked away for 30 years.


image


In the book I found her hand-written recipe for Gumdrop Cake. Mother always made two for the Christmas season. One for the family and one she kept hidden, in the cool pantry, to bring out for company.

The addition of the gumdrops, turns this pound cake into a colorful festive cake to have on hand over the Christmas and New Year’s Season.

Before starting the recipe cut each gumdrop into four pieces. You will need a cupful of cut gumdrops.

The cut gumdrops are sticky and need to be dredged so they won’t stick together. Dredge them by simply placing the cut gumdrops in a bowl and stir with a small amount of flour.

This recipe will fill two loaf pans.

I grease and line the pans with parchment or wax paper. My economical mother greased brown paper bags to line the pans. I don’t have any brown paper bags..I used parchment paper.

Preheat oven to 350 F (180C)

  • Cream 1 C. Butter with 1 1/2 C. White Sugar.
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 4 Eggs...beat in one at a time
  • 2 C. Milk
  • 4 C. Flour
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Soda
  • 1 C. Gumdrops bits
  • 2 C. White Raisins ( used dark ones because it was what I had on hand.)
  • 2 C. Sweet Coconut flakes

Divide batter evenly between the two pans and pop into preheated oven.

Cooking time can vary depending on the pan you use.

I cooked the cakes for 1 hour at 350 F then tested with toothpick and it needed a bit more. I dropped oven temperature to 300 F (150C) and let the cake bake another 15 min. It was caused the outside to brown more than I liked. 1 hr is plenty.

When you are satisfied the cakes are cooked, let them cool on wire racks for 15 minutes before removing from pans.

When cooled completely, wrap in tin foil, place in tins or a container and let ripen in frig for a few days before eating or giving away.


image


The gumdrop cake will also freeze well if you make it a couple months before the festive season. Enjoy anytime!



Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada (PEI)

Camera: iPad Air

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved.




image


Sort:  

My grandma used to use brown paper bags! I had forgotten that! Great tag. I am bad at remembering to take food pictures, but with the holidays coming it should be easier to remember with all the treats that will be around! Resteeming

Thanks so much @melinda010100. ❤️ It’s funny how certain things trigger a memory from the past. At one time there were lots of brown paper bags around from the groceries. Everything plastic bags now unless you bring your own bags.

We are usually given a choice of bags. Paper Or plastic. I try to remember to bring my own, but occasionally forget. It works out okay because I use the paper bags to collect my recyclables in.

Plastic bags are starting to be outlawed here. It would be a good thing with how long it takes plastic to decompose.

That is a good thing! I know a few States have banned them here, I will be happy when mine is one of them.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp. Most appreciate your support. 🤗

These sound so good! Thank you for sharing the recipe! Going to resteem so I can find it again when I am home.

Thanks @jamethiel and for stopping by. Let me know how yours turn out when you make them.. Divide the recipe in half if you just want one Gumdrop Cake.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Looks pretty good! Yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @catwomanteresa and for stopping by. 😊

Howdy there redheadpei! I've never had Gumdrop cake before but this sure looks like a winner to me!

Thanks Cowboy Jon. Easy to make. One is already eaten. I may have to make a couple more . 😊

haha! yes Ma'am I'd have to quadruple the recipe and make a batch of them! I might give ONE of them away. lol.

Good Jon. Let me know how it turns out.

Witbier. Trust me. The two will work together.

I like my gumdrop cake with tea or coffee. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98