Light producing organic biochemical

in #til5 years ago

Those stuff in fireflies, etc. A group of people in the past decided to call it luciferin.

Sort:  

Fireflies are scary. One time when I was a kid I caught several and put them in a jar with some leaves and twigs to use as a nightlight, planning to release them in the morning. Only by the time morning came, they had all murdered each other. There were severed legs and wings and blobs of yellow-green goo everywhere in the jar, with not a single survivor.

Wow nasty. Looks like they just crashed into each other with the lights and all.

I think what probably happened is, I caught a bunch of males that were looking to mate (males fly in the air while blinking, while females sit on the ground when the blink, and the ones I caught were flying). When I put all males in an enclosed space they behaved territorially and/or for mating rights and all fought to the death.

lesson: don't put fireflies in a jar lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80