→ Tintype Photography

in #tintype6 years ago

I have always been attracted to the beauty of tintype photography. If you don't know what that is, think American Civil War era photos.

Watch this very well-done video, then I'll be back for more talk.

There is something magical tintype, as maybe you can see in that video. If I could afford to get into it, and if my kids weren't young enough that having hazardous chemicals here would be too dangerous, I would love to get into shooting real tintype.

Here's another video:

As things stand, I can only fake it, but there are many good actions for Photoshop and filters for Lightroom that will emulate Tintype, and several good apps too. For iOS I like "TinType" and the "TinType" filter package for Hipstamatic.

Link Blog

Back when I had my own website, I used to post a few random links everyday or every few days, in the style of http://kottke.org or http://daringfireball.net. Readers seemed to enjoy seeing them.

I'm still thinking about the formatting, but for now I will put an arrow (→) at the beginning of the title to show you guys it is a link post and that you can skip it if such things don't interest you.

(html comment removed: include [/Users/dbooster/Dropbox/notes/steemit - footer - about.md]{/Users/dbooster/Dropbox/notes/steemit - footer - about.md} )

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.

(html comment removed: end include [/Users/dbooster/Dropbox/notes/steemit - footer - about.md] )

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94