Sort:  
Loading...

Topic: Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


I am Rodel Catajay, from Mabini Batangas Philippines. Thanks to Chris, on which i am engaging in several conversation for the past week on the steem, that I came to be invited on this group.

Let me just start from my interest, since I learned to read and watch tv, my interest grow on various topics, i found science a very informative to read, then i am acquainted with paranormal science, tru Jaime Licauco's book, it branch out to buying some books about mysticism, spiritualism, Buddhism and others.

Example of books.
Tibetan Book of the Dead, Swami vivekenanda, allan kardecs spirits book,a book of neil donald walsh, and many others which title i cant remember, and its all stored in one of the cabinets, locked up for years.

I am also a Rosicrucian, particularly, OHGRC which later become KMCE, collected a bagfull of discourses.

In general, I like science, particulary Biology, since that is my college degree, BS Biology, I am a teacher by profession in SHS public school, and I am ICT/Blockchain enthusiast and a father to a kid named Apollo.

Feel free to ask me some questions.

That's it for now.


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


Hi guys. I am a researcher from india. I think you guys are talking phylosophy. Somehow i don't like talking phylosophy. Eventhough i like to hear few phylosophers. I hope i can expect some discusions on science topics too here.


View the topic on TokenBB

Good to hear that, sure. Kindly reply to all the comments and post here.

Good to hear that, sure.
Kindly reply to all the
Comments and post here.

                 - guruvaj


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


{And I am wondering if you already realized completely & directly that you are not your Self (mind) or if you have chosen to not realize that yet.}

Let me put it this way, for very few times in my waking time, when you felt or somehow seen a glimpse of a light, suddenly a conversation runs in my head, as if there are people having discourse, or just some voices telling me, explaining, or making me feel there is more to this life than my usual way of thinking.

These words are spontaneous, which it can be not from me, or just immense recall of all the teaching i put into my subconscious.

I just let it flow, listening, and if I have my chance i talk it out to somebody, like my wife or my collegues in school. But most of the time, just myself.

This "discourses" also urge me to write, but, numerous mundane obstacles are still in the way, I am not in a hurry, since I am still a Chela, on the path of learning.

Still some fears that are latent preventing me to really indulge the thing I still cant comprehend or just maybe, I am waiting for my new Master.

Whatever it is, it gives me more meaning and understanding, rather than be confuse, or distracted from concepts to concepts, a hope spring eternal, I lay my rest to the Masters.


View the topic on TokenBB

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


"There is no sin but ignorance". Christopher Marlowe
Read more at https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/christopher_marlowe_379775

Dito ko siguro unang nakita yun quote na ito, I whole heartedly agree on this, since I was in highschool up to now.

i will expound later how i explain it on my own point of view.


View the topic on TokenBB

Hi @guruvaj

Is there any chance I could DM you? Do you use telegram? or discord? I've some questions I wanted to ask you (outside blockchain).

Yours
Piotr

Sure @crypto.piotr
My telegram @rodel_x
+63 9228390100
My discord: https://discord.gg/uB3UhwN

Good evening.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


Example of books.
Tibetan Book of the Dead, Swami vivekenanda, allan kardecs spirits book,a book of neil donald walsh, and many others which title i cant remember..

Hi @guruvaj,

Your ideas & membership will be invaluable to the community.

I read three of the Coversations with God books by Neal Donald Walsh when I was younger but I haven't read or studied any of the other books or texts you mentioned - feel free to write reviews or summaries about those books in the proper categories.


I am also interested in your experience, ideas & perspectice of Self-realization..

And I am wondering if you already realized completely & directly that you are not your Self (mind) or if you have chosen to not realize that yet.

Thank you,
~ @chrisrice


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


The final comprehension is that THE truth cannot be comprehended.

I looked into Buddhism & discovered that what I was referring to as THE #truth, was just the 7th Jhana.

I also looked further at the DhammaWiki.org website and I must say, almost all of it, if not all of it makes sense (to me).


HERE IS A GUIDE:


According to the 10 Hindrances of Enlightenment, I am either a "Stream Entrant" or a "Once Returner", so I am close to full enlightenment based on the standards of Buddhist texts or at least some of them, but I am still following a path, or at least seem to be following a path.

Thank you @guruvaj for being a part of this website.. we can remove our remaining ignorance together 😁✌️


View the topic on TokenBB

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


"There is no sin but ignorance". Christopher Marlowe
Read more at https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/christopher_marlowe_379775

Dito ko siguro unang nakita yun quote na ito, I whole heartedly agree on this, since I was in highschool up to now.

i will expound later how i explain it on my own point of view.

Thank you @guruvaj.. and I look forward to reading your posts.

P.S. I mentioned You in the recent video I filmed, I described what we are doing with Steem.ph, Humanist.xyz and how I'm happy that you joined our activities 😀✌️


View the topic on TokenBB

Reply to Guruvaj is sitting in a humanist lotus tree.


Hi guys. I am a researcher from india. I think you guys are talking phylosophy. Somehow i don't like talking phylosophy. Eventhough i like to hear few phylosophers. I hope i can expect some discusions on science topics too here.

Hi @jigoge,

Thank you for joining the discussion, and yes, I'd love to also discuss science.

I personally like philosophy but I think science can be used to critique our philosophical ideas & perspectives.


What kind of research are you doing in India?

I'd love to learn more about your research, work and studies 😀👍

~ @chrisrice


View the topic on TokenBB

Category Enlightenment:

Seeing the impermanent, inadequate & selfless nature of every-thing.

Topic: Enlightenment by @humanism


VV3q-s20.png

Seeing the insignificance & meaninglessness of every thing.

~ @humanism (@chrisrice)


View this topic on TokenBB

Loading...

Topic: Enlightenment by @chrisrice


Enlightenment.jpg

Seeing the impermanent, inadequate & selfless nature of every-thing.

~ @chrisrice


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Enlightenment by @chrisrice


DhammaWiki.com describes Enlightenment as follows:


The English word enlightenment and the Pali word bodhi both mean 'to wake up,' or 'to open the eyes.' When, as a result of practicing the Buddha's Dhamma, one deeply, fully and directly realizes the impermanent, inadequate and selfless nature of conditioned phenomenon one is said to have become or to have attained enlightenment. Quite automatically, this realization brings about a radical change in one’s experience and one’s behaviour. Frustration, anxiety and fear are replaced by peace and joy. A person who is enlightened is called either a Buddha or an arahant. The state itself is also often called Nibbana.


Source(s):
1. https://dhammawiki.com/index.php/Enlightenment


View the topic on TokenBB

Category Ignorance:

Searching for permanence, perfection AND / OR one's self in things (i.e. in people, places, thoughts, feelings or experiences).

Loading...

Topic: Ignorance by @chrisrice


Ignorance.jpg

Searching for permanence, perfection AND / OR one's self in things (i.e. in people, places, thoughts, feelings or experiences).

~ @chrisrice


DISCLAIMER: I changed the definition for this a few times & insight that I gained from DhammaWiki.com influenced some of my latest change.


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Ignorance by @chrisrice


I tend to agree @guruvaj and I think the word "sin" is a somewhat inappropriate term for the word "ignorance".

Not seeing significance or meaning in things is a little tricky (especially at first) since there is a tendency to see meaning (positive or negative meaning) in the words of "not seeing meaning in things".

It's a never ending circle until a person no longer sees meaning in seeking, even if the mind is seeking.

  • It's an interpretation that destroys all interpretations.

P.S. If there is anything you disagree with me on, or if you word things differently than me, it's okay - real discussion from different points of view can offer clarity 😀


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...

Topic: Guruvaj asks: Number 1


Is a conscious act of harming a person (doing a sinfull act) can really put you into hell(or eternal punishment)?


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Guruvaj asks: Number 1


To answer this question, we need to understand, or atleast explore various meanings of the following words.

  1. What is a conscious act?
  2. What is a sin?
  3. What is hell?
    Answers will be very varied from person to person, since every individual have different understanding of everything.

But still try.


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...

Reply to Guruvaj asks: Number 1


To answer this question, we need to understand, or atleast explore various meanings of the following words.

  1. What is a conscious act?
  2. What is a sin?
  3. What is hell?
    Answers will be very varied from person to person, since every individual have different understanding of everything.

But still try.

I will do some research about the words you are referring to and I'll discuss it with you here.

I can learn from our discussions much like your students learn from you in the classroom @guruvaj 😁🖐️


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...
Loading...

Category Self-realization:

Losing one's sense of self in such a profound way that it seems as though there is no such thing as self.

Topic: Self-realization by @humanism (@chrisrice)


r_RAyRoU.png

Losing one's sense of self in such a profound way that it seems as though there is no such thing as self.

~ @humanism (@chrisrice)


View this topic on TokenBB

Category Nibbana:

Reality as it is, outside of our thoughts, words, experiences & consciousness. (freedom from suffering / nothing / the absolute)

Loading...
Loading...

Topic: Nibbana by @humanism


2_Nibbana.png

Reality as it is, outside of our thoughts, words, experiences & consciousness, also known as "Freedom from Suffering", "Perfect Happiness", "Nirvana", Nothing and the "Absolute".

~ @humanism (@chrisrice)


View this topic on TokenBB

Topic: Introduction to Nibbana


Nibbana (Pali), nirvana (Sanskrit), is the highest spiritual state and the ultimate goal of Buddhism.

meditation-2214532_1280.jpg

The word nibbana comes from nir meaning ‘stop’ and và meaning ‘to blow.’ Thus Nibbana is the extinguishing or blowing out of the fires of greed, hatred and ignorance. Alternatively, it may come from nir plus vana meaning ‘desire’ and thus mean the ‘stopping of desire.’ When, as a result of practicing The Noble Eightfold Middle Path
ignorance and craving give way to knowledge and fulfilment, one attains Nibbana and at death is no longer subject to rebirth and all the suffering that entails.

Source:

  1. DhammaWiki.com

Do you agree, disagree or have any questions?

~ @chrisrice


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Introduction to Nibbana


To many, different words have different meaning. Words show origin, shows culture, shows preferences and others, words also shows discriminations, shows isolation, it shows materialization of the thoughts.
Nirvana, is a state of mind, much like the heaven of Christianism. And we all knew this analogy so far right.

Nirvana is a goal, an objective, a mission. It gives us inner strenght to endure our existence. It is a loud voice within our soul that directs us back to the source. The source, where the first light came forth. The seed of creation itself.

This feeling is blocked by mundane task. It is ok. You and me are not exactly alike, our soul evolution, our soul time differs, our soul consciousness differs in many level. It is ok. Do not worry. Whatever status you are in now, whatever hardships or misfortunes, or whatever great accomplishments you are enjoying now, your goal and my goal is still the same, your soul is always knows what to do.

So what is the key to this state?
Again, words may confuse you, your feelings and status in life may distract you.
But dont be distracted, just stop for a moment. Be quiet and listen. Listen to what...? You start by staring at your garden, the sky, the rains, anything, just stop and look disenterestedly. Even just a minute, that precious 60 seconds, when you just stop.
the next stop that you will do, you will hear something.

You will hear your SELF.


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...

Topic: Is Nothing Real?


couple-daytime-dream-catcher-886615.jpg


Based on what I tend to believe now, every-thing that exists (or at least my perception of what exists) is nothing more than my own thoughts, ideas & concepts being experienced in consciousness, and it is all happening (or seems to happen) in nothing (expressed in math as the number 0), and I have determined for myself from a 1st-person perspective that I am either nothing (expressed in math as the number 0), currently experiencing awareness as consciousness OR that it's impossible to know what I actually am other than knowing that I am not what I perceive my self & me to be.

In summary, I am not able to determine if nothing is the absolute reality or if that's just the closest I can get to the truth, but it is most likely useful to consider every-thing else (outside of nothing) as NOT the absolute reality, the truth or even real.


You can see the life that I live in the Philippines at Emafe.com, meet me at Steem.ph, or discuss philosophy with me at Humanist.xyz.

~ @chrisrice


View this topic on TokenBB

Reply to Is Nothing Real?


Nothingness and realness are both duality. Duality is a perception common to us. And this duality should be surpassed by a true seeker of enlightenment.
Until all duality and singularity emphasized to exist, it will exist.
To see is not to look at it. By mere focusing on it, it manifest itself.

So, duality is a creation of our own ignorance.
Transcending this ignorance will lead to nirvana.


View the topic on TokenBB

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Category Mindfulness:

The ability of a person to stay calm & collected.

Topic: Mindfulness by @chrisrice


Mindfulness.jpg

The ability of a person to stay calm & collected (inwardly & outwardly).

~ @chrisrice


View this topic on TokenBB

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00