Alternative to a tensioner tool

in #tools6 years ago (edited)

My mom owns a minivan. Since she can't afford (on retirement benefits) to have a certified mechanic fix it at a repair shop, it falls on family (usually me) to do the work of repairing it when needed. It's a 2006 and in the summer of 2012 I had to work on the alternator (specifically the bolts mounting it, as they seem to like to shear or back out). I used a specialty tension adjustment tool several times (as I couldn't remove sheared pieces of bolts quickly to replace with new bolts). Last month, it had the same problem. This time I couldn't get a tensioner tool (it was 2am when I remounted the alternator and the parts store had been closed for hours). I had to do it another way, which turned out to be MUCH easier. I made this video after I had removed the sheared bolt pieces and remounted the alternator with new bolts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sonlite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68