A recent attic find with a disappointing ending

in #toys5 years ago

I was recently helping to clear out the attic of someone I know because they were moving to a new house after i think 20 years of living in the same place. It was actually pretty fun to go down memory lane and some really choice items were found from the days of yesteryear. The old skis that no one will ever use again, the massive entertainment systems that were all the rage in the 90's and a few collectibles that were awesome finds for a nerd like me.

However, one in particular I thought was a massive SCORE turned out to be a real dud and I am genuinely surprised.

714gw6RsqOL._SX425_.jpg

This my friends, is a 140 piece jigsaw puzzle made by Kenner - a company that used to manufacture all sorts of stuff, mostly toys, and throughout the years was acquired by this company or that and was absorbed by Hasbro in 1991 who closed down the name altogether. This puzzle, was in mint condition and this was a real surprise considering where it was stored in a non temperature-controlled area.

The puzzle was made in 1977 and how it managed to not only survive the, what is bound to be crazy variations in temperature in that attic, but also the hands (and mouths) of 4 children boggles the mind. I was convinced that we had discovered a holy grail of nerd-dom that was going to be worthy of framing or at least selling for a thousand dollars at some Star Wars convention.

__57.jpg

I come bearing unfortunate news though - this particular puzzle at present day garners a resale price that likely hasn't even kept up with inflation. As it turns out there are hundreds of them available on E-bay right now for $10. What a sham! I figured that since the plastic toys are selling for thousands of dollars (seriously, the original Millennium Falcon in mint condition sells for thousands of dollars.)

Millennium_Falcon_(Series_1,_Kenner).jpg
before we sold ours on a garage sale for probably 50 cents, it could have been renamed the Destoydium Pidgeon

Oh well, we decided, wisely, to hang onto it and just enjoy it ourselves. Maybe we can turn it into a game to see who can put it together the fastest.

Just out of interest - have you ever found something in your collections that turned out to be worth a fortune? I would be very interested to hear about if if you have :)

As always thanks for reading and I hope you continue to find these things interesting. I was delighted to find out that I accidentally ran into some Steemit pages in general searches the other day when i was looking for some information about something-or-other the other day. Let's hope that continues.

Sort:  

$10!
Lol.
I thought you would end this post with: only 119 pieces.
That would be a real disappointment.

Only the classics never die, a wonderful movie, and that continues and continues to be of cult, the years go by and they are better, putting together a puzzle of that size of a movie that is admired should be a wonderful experience, greetings and my respect my support with my vote as always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97