1950's Marx Firetruck Flea Market FindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #toys5 years ago

I'm always buying random shit I don't need, and this is one of those pieces. Some things I just can't say NO to and vintage toys may be one of those things.

I've been going to this Flea Market for about 10yrs. Every visit I find something great. This Flea Market is in Northern Michigan where most of the residences are vacation homes and cabins. As the Baby Boomers get older, they sell these properties and most of their stuff ends up here.

The people working the Flea Market often don't know what it is they are selling. As I was searching from table to table, looking at things ranging from water damaged records to "new" dollar store items, I ran across this piece.

I picked it up and gave it a good lookover. The older scruffy looking gentleman working the booth said "That there's an oldie."

I replied "It was a great looking toy and did he have any info on it?" He told me he didn't see any markings on it but knew it was old. With no price tag on it, I was curios what he thought it was worth. After a few minutes of haggling I was walking away with $20 less dollars than I started with. Here is a better look at it.

This isn't my first rodeo with Flea Markets or identifying old unmarked items. While I was looking it over I noticed no markings on the bottom. But upon closer inspection I saw some writing on the tires. Of course I didn't let the seller know until after the deal was done. Do you see what it says???

That's right! It says Louis Marx & CO and Made in the USA. Marx tin toys are some of the most sought after pieces on the market. Without getting too excited, I told him what it was. Most of the price haggling was due to the ladder being missing from the back. Even in this condition they bring around $50-$75 on eBay. For $20 I wasn't mad.


A little interesting history behind the Marx toy company. A History of the Marx Toy Comapany

In 1955, "Time" magazine declared Louis Marx the “Toy King” of the United States. That’s not surprising, considering it’s likely that every child—and parent—in the country had played with at least one of his toys at that point. Today, Louis Marx and Company is perhaps best known for its early wind-uptinplate toys, yo-yos, toy cars, HO and O scale train sets, and plastic playsets depicting everything from European battlefields to prehistoric dinosaur-filled landscapes

In the 1930s, Marx realized that World War II might lead to metal shortages, so the company began developing plastics.

In 1964, Marx produced and distributed Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em Robots, a tremendously popular plastic 3-D game. Five years later, Marx introduced its next big hit, a large plastic tricycle called Big Wheel, which was one of the top-selling toys of the '70s and has a place in the National Toy Hall of Fame.

In 1972, Marx, which was too slow to jump on the electronic-toy bandwagon, was purchased by Quaker Oats, and by 1975, its manufacturing facilities were closed.


It's been a minute since I've actually wanted to write about something on here, so here you go. Say tuned later today for another one of my random silver bars I picked up on my last LCS run. Oh and for those who don't know, LCS stands for Local Coin Shop.

I hope you enjoyed this post and are having a great weekend!!!


Proud member of #Steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

Those old tin toys are rather cool

Thanks @sugarfix! Not sure how I missed this comment. Good to see you over here!

Very cool antique I hope you can flip it for a nice profit ,Back in the days someone threw out a large wooden toy car that looked like it was from around the 1940's I was hopping to try to sell it but my parents made me throw it out

Thanks @bitcoinman! It will end up on my garage wall with all the other random things I buy. One day I'll have to do a post showing my "Wall of Goodies". Everything from vintage toys and camping gear to hubcaps and old lawm mowers. LOL.

Have you ever tried to lookup the old toy you had or have any pictures of it? I may be able to help point you in the right direction.

Would love to see your Wall, when you get around to showing it, unfortunately It was before the days I got into documentation ... now I got a bunch of tools to capture reality

Thats in great shape VG nice score

It is in pretty nice shape. Into my collection it goes!

I just wanted to show everybody your garage @vgholdingsllc

😂🤣😂 I wish my garage was that clean.

I feel like I am watching an episode of Pickers right now. Frank Fritz loves the smalls.

😂. This one is actually a "big" one. It's a 14 1/2 inch toy. And it's friction powered!!!

Thank you vgholdingsllc! You've just received an upvote of 51% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 0.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Flea markets usually has a few vendors selling old coins as in a known large flea market in Vancouver I know. It's rather far for me and at a not so accessible a location but I the place is notorious for fencing hot goods. One day I shall check it out again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know how I missed this comment too. You can find some great stuff at the flea market as long as it's not stolen. If you make it to one you should make a post. Thanks for stopping by!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks @helpiecake and @blewitt!!! I've got a bunch more stuff like this I'll be posting.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Thanks @supdork!!! I was going to put it in the comments of your post, but didn't know if it was dorky enough. There is plenty more stuff like this to come.

Oh, this shit is dorky x's 10. Congrats

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86