Two sites you can use without having to trust exchanges with your funds

in #trading6 years ago

For those of you who don't want to bother signing up to exchanges or having to verify your identity and more important don't want to leave too much value in the hands of others but still want to trade every now and then and speculate on currency movements. There are some other services which can help you with this without having to trust exchanges.

I'm not going to get into decentralized exchanges in this post yet as I recently discussed them. This is about services that offer quick and easy trades from one currency that you hold in a secure wallet which only you have the keys to to another currency which will end up in a wallet of yours as well. This eliminates the risk of trusting exchanges in the scenario that they will freeze your account and funds or go down and the hassle of having to wait for weeks for them to respond to your tickets.


One of the biggest services that offer this and is well known to us Steemians is @blocktrades at https://blocktrades.us/.

If you want to trade Bitcoin into another currency, it allows for all of these as of right now:

But also for Steem Dollars and Steem Power to your account directly (it didn't fit in one screenshot).
They have recently also added a delegation feature for SteemPower for 1 or 3 months which you can read more about here: Blocktrades Delegation Announcement.

Blocktrades also accepts many coins to trade into the screenshot above, not viewing the Bitshares ones, this is the rest of the currencies they accept:

I have personally used their services quite often and it is very reliable. Fees will apply + transactions fees but due to other exchanges often being unreliable it often may pay off a lot more to use these services instead. This one time Poloniex was down and Steem was having a breakout on Bittrex the fast service of Blocktrades allowed me to do some good arbitrage for a fast profit which you can read more in an old post of mine.


Shapeshift is another similar service that allows for quick and safe trades between currencies without going through exchanges. They have a wide selection of altcoins and let you trade in between them for a fee and transaction fee. You choose what currency you want to input, place your address of the other currency you want to trade with and you will receive them in a matter of minutes (not counting confirmation times).

It has been up and running for a long time but seems to have some problems every now and then keeping all altcoins available for trading. Steem and Bitshares for instance are currently disabled but we hope they will be back up soon! Make sure to always check if they are available at the time of doing a trade.


Hope this article helped some of you traders out there who don't want to trust exchanges with your funds but still want to actively trade. The volatility we are having lately gives a lot of room for profits even if there are some extra fees involved by using these services instead of exchanges.

Stay safe out there!


Sort:  

I use https://changelly.com :) and about shapeshift the altcoins i wanna exchange are always "temporarily unavailable"

@transisto thx for the recommendations, me right now doing :D
:D

@transisto @acidyo this is the reply from ShapeShift

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll take a look into it and maybe add it to another post in the future, I remember the rates being far from great when it started off in the beginning but I'd be happy to hear that has changed!

Yeah like I mentioned almost half the coins they support are unavailable. :/

Yeah, after getting funds stuck in Bittrex who want 'advanced verification' I've gone back to changelly and I love it!

How can you forget about https://changelly.com/ ? Better than Shapeshift and support STEEM and SBD.
(will switch my vote if you edit)

Last time I tried it it was very far off from "the best rate" so it didn't come to mind at all.

No not going to edit it anymore, next time maybe ask that before flagging and I might consider.

blocktrades is most comfortable for me..

I hope blocktrade to be a big exchange.

Thank you very much for your information it might just come in handy one day. Cheers

No doubt Blocktrades offer great services!

Another useful post! Blocktrades and Shapeshift are indeed very reliable! They've never let me down! Good to see you trying to help more and more. Upvoted!

Highest Regards

Nice post man! I haven't used any of these services yet but now I might try it out. Thanks for sharing

I don’t have photo ID, so exchanges are really difficult. Blocktrades is useful, I’ve poked around there. All I need to do is figure a step from there to a GBP bank account.

Once you figure that out let us all know.

I will! But I’m focusing on building Steem Power atm. I need it if I’m going to be useful around here.

i agree with you

Have been using changelly, bittrex had some issues in its verification process , guess blocktrades is more handy, will try it thanks for the post anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87