My friday thoughts and some training advice

in #training6 years ago (edited)

The winter (with snow and ice) doesn’t seem to come to our latitudes this year (either). This week It has though been minus degrees but as a skier I am waiting for snow, desperately. The following weeks are the most important in my training year. In february I have planned to take part in two or three marathon skiing competitions in Finland, and in beginning of March in the worldś most famous Marathon ski competition, Vasaloppet, in Sweden. If I want to succeed in the competitions, I must get a lot of time on snow now.

Then to my training advice:

Clever cardio training

I know there are many out there who are training for a competition or any event in sports. It may be running (half marathon, marathon, trail running), cycling, ironman, skiing or whatsoever. Most of you have jobs, families and much to do. It may be hard to find time for training. My training advice for you are not to train much, but to train cleverly and effectively. 2 hours of effective training may be as good as 5 hours of less effective training. For many of you this may sound obvious, but I also know that many exercisers are trying to copy the elite competitors and does lots and lots of training without getting so good results. I have recently read a book “smart konditionsträning” written by Erik Wickström. It is in swedish but the common sense of that book is to “train smart”, “think out of the box” and “not copy the elite”. I would recommend this book to all of you that want to get better without spending all your leisure time on training. (unfortunately the book is only in swedish)
IMG_20180112_234120.jpg

My training so far this week hasn't been great. It has been a week with a lot of things to do both at work and at home and not much time for training. I have done a few short quality training sessions so far this week. Hopefully I will get two longer training sessions in the weekend.

40 min of Skierg (intervals: 4+4+4x500m) medium
45 min of Skierg (intervals: 2x5000m) hard
Running intervals (8x750m) medium/hard

As follow the heart rate curve from my second training session. Half of the session in "maximal" zone. Good.

pulskurva.png

And of course...Premier league is back this weekend, NICE! hopefully Chelsea will take all the three points. Interesting to see if the new "kid", Ross Barkley will make the bench, though I think itś too early. He will surely be in contention for the second leg of the FA cup against Norwich next week. KTBFFH!

See you!

Sort:  

awesome

keep practicing friends to win. we are to be a professional athlete it must be a lot of self-training and also a routine exercise ... I agree with your opinion ... 2 hours of training effectively and focus better than 5 hours of exercise but not focused and ineffective.

hello friend @matinho nice to greet you just like you are an athlete (boxing) and it is difficult to find time to do all the exercises and training required for this activity, it is clear that if you only live for that sport it is a fact that you will have time to spare to practice it and that's where I think it's the mistake in wanting to copy these same routines if you're just amateur but equally passionate because a short but high intensity training will give you short and long term results the main idea is not to stop train with the excuse of not having time to do it .... Thanks for your post greetings from Venezuela

Atleast you guys have snow, God damn it!!
Here in India it's boiling all the time.

I also need to get to my training routine, it is so easy to get lazy, hopefully tomorrow will be starting day agaion

The amount of snow has been a real bummer so far, hope it changes now with more minus degrees.

I liked Barkley when he was playing for Everton, hope he gets some game-time for Chelsea soon!

comments positive and accompanied prayer nice @acidyo ... hopefully snow his reduced and athletes can took away for a practicing to win ...

No, we want more snow. :P

I apologize my friends, my understanding otherwise ... maybe I misunderstood it ...☺

thanks for sharing! got back into training as well and i agree if you put effort into a workout it pays off way more!

Enjoyed reading your post and I hope you do well in the skiing competition and I think Chelsea will win 3-2. Thank for sharing.

Thanks for sharing!
Enjoyed reading your post. I am also very crazy about it and going to running for 30 minutes and 30 minutes to other exercise but this is not routine 10 days in 15 days.

Wow, I suddenly feel I'm being too lazy. I used to go to the gym every day and do at least an hour of cardio. I need to get back to that. Congratulations on staying motivated, it's good to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59