Friendless, Original Music

in #trap-hop5 years ago (edited)

What's up, SteemIt! Long time no chat.

I wanted to share an original song with you, entitled "Friendless." I hope you enjoy!

https://soundcloud.com/jon-creasy-607152200/friendless

Lyrics:

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

Here I am at the age of twenty-six
Doing my best to fit into the young adult mix
Being from the sticks made me
Feel like I was in a fix at first
Being on our own wasn’t the worst
We religiously attended church
Experienced hurt, shifted from being an extrovert
To God knows what, but
Sittin’ on the couch with my bae I can’t say
That I like the way Life’s had me
Tied to the Whipping Post, but
No more than most millennials, like perennials
We get trampled down, thrown to the ground,
Hear that? Freedom’s dying sound,
I look all around try to strategize through all the lies
Like a complicated game of chess and I realize,
That I’m Friendless

(I’m Friendless!)
I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

I’m not sure when I lost my many friends,
I’m not sure if I can exactly pinpoint the End
But as teens we were keen on connecting through screens
And over time it became harder to read between the lines when you
Don’t spend time face to face
Or being at each other’s place
You save face through FaceTime
Or swapping Vines, but that’s in the past
It sure went fast, Social’s golden age
Turned us all into sages
LED instead of pages,
It didn’t go through stages
It’s the change of the Ages,
Zuck put us all in cages,
Leaving us mostly brainless,
But more importantly Friendless.

Yo all these OGs, they say all the time, “Keep yo clique up” and here I am by myself man, I ain’t got nobody I don’t have anybody supporting me. Do you have anybody supporting you? Are we alone out here? Are we alone in this mess of social media? In this wasteland of phones, and email and Twitter, and Facebook, and Instagram? Enough! It’s time to stand up. It’s time to be friends again. Where y’all people at?

(I’m right here!)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

So put down your phone
Nobody said we have to be all alone
We act like technology’s all we’ve ever known
Don’t all those student loans weigh enough?
Maybe y’all need a puff of Dr. Dre’s Chronic stuff
I know I don’t always feel up to snuff
But it’s about time we call Zuck’s bluff
Maybe we’ve all been addicted to this connected
Utopia the Boomers and Xers depicted but the fact is
We’ve all been afflicted with FB’s disease
So please come to your senses,
It’s time to swing for the fences,
We can’t afford to be Friendless

(I said we can’t afford to be friendless!)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

I’m so friendless, (Friendless)
The pain in my chest is so Endless (Endless)
Hide behind my phone Unless (Unless)
I’m Friendless (Friendless)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54