Bajai Life Camp 16.24: Day 475: [Back again - Playing Catch up.]

in #travel-living6 years ago

Bajai Life Camp 16.24: Day 475
City Park Hotel
Monday September 24, 2018
Barcelona, Spain
26.01% vibing

I still can't access train tickets to Madrid. This is happening across three platforms. The last attempt was directly from the railway app... it could not store my credit information. That seems to be the problem. Am I the only one? It's not the card(s); I've used them both, successfully in the past few days. So it looks like I'll be taking a ride to Sants, if I can get a ticket to there.

20180924_The tracks.png
The railroad to Barcelona Sants

Since I thought about it, this is the same kind of annoyance that's been happening the whole of last week. Somehow it doesn't have the same effect in Spain. I think it's a matter of knowing... to a certain extent, the area. Feeling comfortable in being able to source alternatives and move around. This trip to the station doubles as a dry run. Maybe that's what Universe had in mind.

This morning I tried booking a bus. It seemed to be okay. I stopped short of making payment. I also tried to book a different departure time, same result. So I think it's whatever payment system related to the train company. That's my theory anyway.

This is yet another example of how I'm still operating within the system. I may have a bit more elbow room than the average bear, but I still run up against resistance when the systems within the system don't function properly. If this had been a focused attack, I'd be royally screwed.

Tea at Tres Arc(s)? to start the day. I'd love to have breakfast here, but they don't really do my kind of breakfast in Catalonian. Anyway, the lady, the daughter was ready to prepare a cup of tea. Maybe I can get something near the station. Once I get my ticket I'll feel more certain.

So much for the short cut.

20180924_The Map.png

After typically getting lost and having a nice little workout/tour around this area, I came across a map at a bus stop and found my way to the station. The mission continues.

Oh yeah... I heard the dudes at the hotel speaking French with one of their minders. I only see young women with these guys. Of course, this makes me wonder if this is a university project of some kind. Seems there are lots of universities up this way. The mystery continues. If I have a chance to speak with them I'll ask about French. I don't think they're athletes.

There's often... almost always, a little voice in me that's trying to convince me that I'm going, or being taken the wrong way. It used to be worse. I used to ask two or three people directions to get corroboration. I've accused Google maps of taking me far out of my way and it turned out either I missed a slight turn, started moving in the wrong direction, and one time I (in Lisbon) got off the bus at the complete wrong station!

I'm still fazed by these experiences. But yes, sometimes I get it right. Today I caught the right train in the right direction. Exactly four stops and I'm exactly where I expect to be.

20180924_Sants.png

But wait... here comes the story of the kiosk.

As planned, the first attempt was a kiosk. Excited and without thinking I nearly bought a ticket for today! But I couldn't find a seat, or pay. The kiosks' pay system is a tap device and it couldn't read my card. Human interaction was the last resort. It should be the first, but getting to it is often stressful. At Barcelona Sants, the line moved quickly. Faster than the people in line could keep up. Once I got to the window it was smooth sailing. Got the time, the date, the price, mas-o-minus, the seat... and the ticket. The card worked... easy-peezy. Good to go.

My one meal.

20180924_Diner Bcn.png

I've been doing fairy well with the one meal a day discipline. Of course there are snacks and tea, sometimes late. I have three eggs left I'll probably consume either tomorrow or this evening.

Today, since I was in Bcn I ducked into an Asian Diner. I don't think they're actually called Asian Diners, but for the sake of description. There's a model that's consistent among the places I've eaten.

First of all, it's a classic diner set up; a counter/bar, tables, mostly four-tops, no booths. A set diner type menu that appeals to my American appetite... everything comes with fries, (chips). Platter meals are served. Tea, coffee, beer, sodas are available. The usual. And... there's a television. Usually the worst possible show is on, other times it's futbol. And, there's an Asian (Chinese) family behind the operation.

I have to admit to having a fascination with Chinese families that set up businesses and live outside of China. It takes a lot of adaptation... at least. I've encountered and patronized a lot of Chinese businesses all over Spain. I've gotten to a point where I can tell it's a Chinese spot before I even walk through the door. There's a lot of merchandise and there's that, "dollar store" smell. The smell of plastic. And, there are kids behind the counter, or following me around the store.

There's not much need for me to stick around near the station. I got my food and my ticket, so I might as well go back. Explore a bit, maybe more training and prepare to leave.

Time seems to be moving slowly. Next thing I know I'll be on a flight to the US. It doesn't make sense to go via Canada. I'll take the weight of arriving in Miami. With daily flights to and from Madrid there should be no problems. Plus the airport is very close to "home."

Once again I'm thinking about what could go wrong, although I don't think it will. It's a gift; a necessary mental strategy. I'm happy that in most situations I don't need my back-up plan. In fact, at this moment, I'd imagined being on a Russian train to Beijing... but I didn't properly plan it. So, I'm living my back-up plan. I think this plan will turn out better.

20180924_Not cho Nachos.png
Nachos and Beer.

Hung out with Xavi tonight in the city center. We have a lot in common; tastes, perspective, open minds. First reunion for me from our epic PI crew!!!

20180924_Beers w Xavi.png
Reunion Hang out in Barcelona.

Back to the spot and get ready to leave tomorrow. Oh, and I have an upload to finish.

Sort:  

Hey everybody. Looks like Steem is coming back... a little bit.
We've got a lot to catch up on. Hope you enjoy.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90