My Travels Across The United States - A Wonderful Time

in #travel5 years ago

I do write about only a few things. Startups I come across and also my travels. This is my first post on some of my travelling and many years ago someone told me that the most beautiful place you can visit was your own country, the United States. I am a International Business major and love new cultures. I know that visiting another country would be amazing, I have only visited a few. I agree with the advice that was given to me and I think the United States has some amazing places to visit. I decided to take a cross country road trip out of now where I am so happy that I did it.


I just want to provide some of the places I visited during my two week cross country road trip and some of the photos I took. 

Seattle

I wanted to start off with Seattle. I have family in Oregon and I planned to visit Canada, which I did. I then went to Seattle to really start my cross country United States trip. Seattle as a town was not bad. A good size city. I kind of heard it was similar to San Francisco, my home town. It was not similar to San Francisco in my opinion. It was smaller in size, had less to offer and was not robust with  population. It was fun. I visited a few bars, but I did not find a huge small business presents and did not find a good small place to eat. I did find a conservatory and the natural surroundings is what made Seattle stand out.  When visiting any of these cities I did alot ALOT of walking. I walked the whole town and surrounding areas. Walking for about 8-10 hours in each place every day. Seattle had amazing parks. The suburbs were very pleasant and again the conservatory I found was a stand out. It was a beautiful town. I stayed in a hotel a expensive one since it was my first city to visit. You could defiantly find some cheaper well priced options. Maybe AirBnb which I have used before. 

Salt Lake City and Denver

You will notice a few things. One I started from California and went to take my country loop. Also the photos I share will be about places I visited or just the city itself.  After visiting Seattle I went down to Salt Lake City and Denver.  Salt Lake City was a little run down, but the capitol buildings were amazing and also I happened to just visit when President Obama was staying in a Salt Lake City hotel and meeting with Chinese government officials. The hotel itself was busy with news and people surrounding the building. The city itself was still very nice. Bars and locals that were very hospitable. To be honest I was not planning on really stopping in Salt Lake City until I new that Obama was arriving the same day I was. So I checked it out and it is defiantly a place you can spend a day or two. I got a cheap hotel very close to the heart of Salt Lake City about $49 a night. Not very expensive to find a place to stay. 

Denver was much more fun. Lots of small businesses and a busy downtown. They had bars and clubs and the state buildings were also very impressive. I liked the small businesses and some of the organic foods I was able to eat. I was surprised by what Denver had to offer via small businesses. I was also surprised to find out that Denver does not have big banks operating in the town. They have one main bank the Denver Community bank. They had tons of them and I could not find my bank or any other big banks in the town. Its how Denver operates  and even the Denver Broncos stadium is is solely sponsored by Pepsi. I am also a medical marijuana user  so I picked up some marijuana in the plant friendly state. It was not bad weed and to be honest I kept enough with me for the remainder of my trip. ALSO to be honest I had a little ecstasy from California that I kept for the rest of the trip. : ) I decided to stay cheap in Denver. they had a hostile that was conveniently located and was only $35 a night!

Chicago

 

I stayed a few days in Chicago. Again I walked a ton and was able to visit most of the sections of Chicago. They have a lot to offer.  The museum is great. They have a large amount of landmarks. I walked a harbor that they have and I even found a ship with a real world Grand Theft Auto helicopter on top of it. You know that hidden helicopter your always trying to find in Grand Theft Auto. Anyway tons of buildings, theater and cool eating places to visit. I got a deep dish pizza from a local favorite. I went to a restaurant in a loft that offered small dishes made from organic foods. Its a big city to explore and still so much fun.  You can easily keep yourself busy for a entire week if not more in this large city. Also the hotel was fairly priced. I picked a nice one well located for about $70 a night. They have a little cheaper hostile option for about $60 a night. The hostiles are not as near things to do so and I wanted a nicer place to stay while in Chicago.

Washington D.C. 

I really liked what DC had to offer. I only stayed one day. Primarily because finding a place to stay was so expensive. The cheapest hotel I could find was $190 a night. Yeah I chose to drive into Washington DC very early and get some sleep in my car before walking the city. I visited the White House, Eisenhower building and other landmarks. The White House is small.  I liked some of the small eating places I found. One place had organic salads and I got a great sweat beets salad. I also tried a restaurant that was suppose to have a great Lobster Benedict. It was ok and they served me cold grits so that sucked. The one thing about DC is they have a ton of places to see. Its very interesting and its not very packed, its a very calm environment. 

Memphis

This town was small it did not take me long to walk the entire area. They had a sports event going on which was fun to watch. I also had to look around and ask for some more Ecstasy, which I found lol. The downtown was fun. They had live music, a small photograph museum  and a lot of small business shops. I found it had a small vibe like New Orleans. I had to get some barbecue and it was not that bad. Memphis is suppose to be a barbecue town, but it just did not stand out to me. I stayed in a hotel outside of Memphis for about $50 a night. Memphis is a town you can spend just the day in, but since I took a quick stay in Washington DC I had to get some rest during my stop in Memphis. Also when you are doing a cross country loop you kind of have the option to go inland to Memphis or go to Atlanta. I would recommend Atlanta. 

New Orleans

I did not take any pictures in New Orleans. I have way more pictures then what I have shown and I was tired of taking photos. Plus I had drugs and planned to party. New Orleans is open all night long. I ate at some local restaurants which I would not recommend they were not that good.  One had Craw fish which I expected to be good in New Orleans and it was terrible. I did find a nice restaurant with a half-price happy hour for small dishes. They were good, but the black people working their just kept staring at me and I'm black also. Like I was some different type of black person, but it might have been because I smelled like weed. New Orleans had so much going on. Live music, tons of small restaurants and the bars were opened till 6am playing music the whole time. They also kept serving alcohol the whole night. I stayed at a nice hotel for three nights, extending my stay. It was $90 a night which I thought was ok and it was not a far walk to the main part of the city. New Orleans did not have any real landmarks, but I love late nights I am a night owl. I stayed up all night every night. Sleept very few hours and just socialized with the locals who were in the streets for the entire night as well. I really like New Orleans for two to three days of fun. 

Texas

I did not stay in Texas  I did not want to and was getting tired. I also had plans to visit a friend in Arizona. I did stop in Texas to get barbecue at one of the highly rated restaurants in Texas. Texas is suppose to be known for barbecue, like Memphis and Kansas City. They say Texas have great meat and YES THEY DO. The barbecue was great and blew Memphis away.  I do want to visit Texas soon. I have heard that San Antonio is great and Austin. 

Phoenix Arizona

It seemed like a great city. I did not get any time to visit the downtown area, but I did visit some of the nature areas and a nearby lake. My friend, his girlfriend and myself chilled at the lake drinking some beers. I hung around the area around downtown Phoenix and it was not bad. Not very busy and VERY HOT. I have heard that Phoenix is a college town and I am guessing if you spend some time downtown you will have some fun. 

Las Vegas


This does not have much to do with a cross country road trip, but I really enjoy Las Vegas. I have visited it with friends in the past. During the same year and just prior to my road trip I visited Las Vegas twice by myself. For my birthday and for EDC(Electric Daisy Carnival). EDC by the way is a great music festival. You will have a great weekend with so much to do at the festival and the strip of Las Vegas. After my road trip I stopped in Las Vegas again and spent a week. At the Cosmopolitan, Venetian and the Bellagio. I have stayed at a majority of  the hotels in Las Vegas, cheap or expensive. I like what Cosmopolitan has to offer. The rooms are amazing and its tons of fun just staying in the hotel. The Venetian and Bellagio are well located. The Venetian also offers a great club and pool area. Tao is fun, but not the best. Bellagio might not excite people so much, but the rooms are great and I love the hotel. Also Wynn is great. The clubs are awesome I mean awesome and the hotel pool is great. Some people do not like Las Vegas, but if you want a great three-four days of do what you feel like go for it.

That's my first road trip. I suggest you take your time, have fun and keep it reasonable in price. I will be taking another one and I would recommend a few more places to visit. The next places on my list are: San Antonio, Dallas, Austin, Kansas City, Miami, New Orleans Again, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Boston, Cleveland and Chicago Again. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @adambernardjeter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81