ADSactly Personal - Can I Make a Living on the Road?

in #travel6 years ago

Can I Make a Living on the Road?

Is it Possible to Make a Living in a Few Minutes Per Day?

Ummmm, no. Not even remotely possible. Is it possible to combine optimum leisure with making a living? Certainly.


Source

Is it even remotely possible to earn a living while travelling?
It can be done. Probably not unfettered luxury for most of us, but earning a living on the road is very possible.

3 Sure Ways to Earn Your Living

1. Win the Lottery. Don't forget to buy tickets.
2. Choose your parents carefully. A nice fortune can go a long ways.
3. Hard, consistent work and perseverance.

Numbers 1 and 2 are fairly self explanatory. For those of us who failed at them we will proceed to number 3.

Hard, consistent work and perseverance.

You have to be willing and able to work hard at least part of the time. Very probably much harder than your friends who stay at home. Why? Because you will be wanting to do things while your employer expects you to be working. So you better be ready to hustle.

You have to be consistent. Absolutely no "I'll do it tomorrow" is available to the traveller. Once you let the pipeline dry up even a little it takes a long time to refill it. Trust me on this.

You have to persevere. Everyday. There are going to be days that don’t go as planned. Perseverance is how you overcome that piece of the puzzle.


Source

What to Do?

The first piece of the puzzle in my case became “How to work from home?” I’ve struggled with that over the years, but have managed to do so. I started by taking a job online through one of the many providers of jobs. If you can’t find something to do online that you can live with and get paid for you haven’t looked hard enough. There are literally millions of jobs waiting for someone to do them. Millions.


Source

At first I took specific length contracts for a specific amount of money, planning to ride in between contracts. The problem being with that solution is that in order to keep the money pipeline running I had to be two to five contracts out. They all overlapped and I was never, ever done. There was no way I could take that act on the road.

Then I caught a job. A real live 7 hour per day 6 days per week job. Doing online support for a medium sized player in the market. It paid enough, but they really sort of expected me to be available for a specific period of time almost every single day.

I could do the work of that job in 4 hours. Easy. I had to scatter the hours pretty carefully, but I didn’t have to be on site all the time. At the same time I discovered that bit of knowledge I expanded my role to include some rewriting projects for the company. Didn’t pay any extra, but absence from the support desk became expected. The last bit of making that job work for me instead of the other way round was swapping some hours with a coworker. It seemed like I took the bad end of the stick, but it made her life better and put my required hours in the very dark early morning hours. Eureka!


Source

I was soon travelling. At one point I did 6 weeks without being home. Much of that was spent with friends and family, but my employers didn’t even realize I was not manning my desktop. The only one that knew was my friend that I swapped hours with. I could do my four hours of requirement with a solid 2 hours in the early AM and 2 more one hour stretches at a coffee shop or restaurant. The writing was done in the early hours and I really twisted myself to keep up. It was heavenly.

That job ended abruptly with the company spinning off part of itself. They canned 4 employees and offered to keep me on. For several reasons, I refused. Fortunately, I was at home and in pretty good shape money wise.

Remember those rewrites? They came in handy as reference points for a clickbait reblog site. I soon became the automotive/motorcycle guy and they gave not one rip where I was on earth so long as I gave them a minimum of one rewrite per day. I was soon back on the road making $100 to $500 per day. I was on the road and had a savings account.

But it was so scummy. I was ‘repurposing’ press releases and others researched articles for the simple purpose of getting people to click on the boxes. I never had a single copyright complaint, but I didn’t like it. Even my wanderlust couldn’t make me justify that life.

So I decided to try actual writing. A lot of self doubt in that. I’m a motorcycle junkie. I’m a mechanic. Not exactly qualities that endear you to the Pulitzer Prize Board. But if I were going to travel…

I studied. I polished. I learned some things by doing them incredibly poorly. I wrote millions of words and published (mostly on my own blog). I made bumpkis. I wrote for a Motorcycle Blog. Made a little and learned a lot. Maybe. Just maybe.

Simple Question, Simple Answer

So, this whole rambling account boils down to a simple answer to a simple question. Yes, it is possible to make a living and travel. You to have discipline and dedication, you need to work hard. But it can be done. Others are doing it just fine. It’s just like most anything else, if you want it bad enough you can get it.

I came to Steemit. I see people all around me making money honestly. Can I do it? Time will tell. I have a start and a place. I’ve fallen in with some incredibly good people that have helped and nurtured me. I believe in my heart it is possible. You will know for a fact when I post from on the road.

Authored by: @bigtom13

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here: https://steemit.com/witness-category/@adsactly-witness/adsactly-steemit-witness-proposal
First open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

interesting
I will always choose 3 and I will accept the surprises and opportunities of life
We just need patience
Thanks for sharing

step number 3 is the main step and finest step ever. The key of success is actually the hard work. And I believe every failure is a step towards more hard work.

Thanks for sharing your story! It's truly inspiring..........
I am sure if we are together and help each other ,, surely we can solve this problem together ,, .. let's get up and fight ,, we must be ready in any condition ,,, never give up.!!!!
IMG20180216161334.jpg

nice post thank for shearing

NIce post.. I am looking at making a living while I travel around Australia in the next 3 years.. I have ideas on how to make money while travelling, and will be sharing them here and on a blog I will create.. it will be blog about my journey and what I get up to.. should be a lot of fun..

You got it! Hard work always pays off!

Can you do it?

You sure can, because....

Can anyone do it?

Hahahah. Good one :)

Thank you. Made my day.

I honestly think that if I can that the window is pretty big. There are a lot of really talented people around.

nice post shear thank you

Yup it's pretty much comes down to 3. But with much perseverance and thanks to a book from David J. Schwartz many years ago i gained my freedom :)
tumblr_mh40z6aUa21rpm9hyo1_250.gif

  1. Winning a lottery is like shooting the moon with your pellet gun. It's almost impossible to win that game due to its high probability amounting to million. Its just a luck if you win in lottery.

  2. Choosing a Parent is totally impossible! LOL

  3. Choosing a Good Job and Working Hard is somehow gives hope to be at least average in living and can buy things that you need. And very few that were successful to achieve financial freedom. Firstly, If we were an employee, we are like prisoners in the four corner of our office with the boss will be our jail guard. We are not free to move or have a vacation whenever we want, it needs permission from our boss.

Steemit will wipe these three out in terms of achieving financial freedom! In this platform, we are free and we can do what we want, work whenever we want and we are the boss! We will just keep learning and keep steeming and soon $$$ will just knock in our doorsteps :)

Yeah, but how to make it if you are completely newbie? I myself just started couple of weeks ago, post only rich, original content and...nothing happens (except 1-3 votes worth of pennies).

Need your advice: how to crush it on Steemit?

Thx!
Adrian

Just keep on keeping on. It isn't going to happen today or tomorrow, but it's there. Really.

When you are brand new I think the very best thing you can do is write good comments and get your self known. But it looks like you might already know that.

Thank you man! Upvoted, because your advice is not one of those stereotypes I see all over the place!...

Cheers,
Adrian
a0.png

We all know having nice legs makes it much easier to live on the road, so do not exclude this secret in the future.

Carry on - an inspiration to those who are foot loose and fancy free!

Dream life

one can make a living anywhere and any part of the world and all he needs is laptop and net connection and get connect to steemit

Excellent post and you describe very nice three points to make a living and i believe that the first two points won't stay with us for the whole life and in the end the only correct way to make living is point three hard work consistently, i think hard work is a great course and by adopting this course we surely see great results in the end. thanks for sharing you nice thoughts with us friend, Stay blessed

I agree. In the end, it's up to me. I still buy lottery tickets on occasion :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67