Kitesurfing in Kapaladdy, Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka

in #travel7 years ago

I've had a bit of a break from SteemIt posts as I went to Kapaladdy lagoon in Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka to try out kitesurfing for the first time. I've always been fascinated by the sport, which uses a big parachute sail kite to propel you out of the water and across the waves. I found out that a friend of mine is an instructor so I went to check it out while my wife and I visited.

Kitesurfing.jpg

Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka is a great place for kitesurfing with the wealth of good instructors there from all over the world. There is a lagoon in many places so you can learn the basics on smoother water before braving the crashing waves of the ocean side. My friend said that I had some of the best kite control he has ever seen and I was even able to get up on the board in our short half-day session. It was a lot of fun and I'd like to try it again, but I'll wait until my wife's and my sunburns heal first. :-)

We did our kitesurfing at Elements Watersports. I highly recommend my friend Phil for instructing, no matter what your experience level. He is fluent in English, French, and German.
http://www.elements-resort.com/kitesurfing


Thanks for your upvotes! Follow me for more travel updates.

Sort:  

niiiiiice. :)) you got vitamin sea! :))

wow, that's wonderful...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60