You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me to ITALY - FASHION, FOOD AND MOUNTAINS

in #travel5 years ago

Thank you. I thought I wouldn't get to visit Italy again, and now I have. I went briefly with a friend in '68 and again with my mother in '72. We didn't see Tuscany, but loved everything we did see.
You capture the mood, the sense of travel well. The meandering style of your narrative is very suited to a relaxing summer vacation. It's not all consuming sites, but rather soaking up experience.
I love the pictures you include of yourself.
BTW...I remember Dusseldorf. Just there for an afternoon in 2000. But I recall vaguely a magnificent harbor, and great bustle of activity. I very much enjoyed my travels in Germany...except for Ulm. The city was beautiful but the people seemed to be in a bad mood :)).
Welcome back. If you have more pictures, share them. Vicarious travel is almost as much fun as actual travel
Regards,
AG

Sort:  

It's my pleasure having caused you to enjoy this little Italy excursion. Wasn't sure if the spirit was coming through. Good, that you restored Düsseldorf's reputation a little bit :)) I was making fun out of it again on our journey back.

My brother lived in Ulm for about a year and I visited once. Can hardly remember anything but the house he was renting back in the middle of the 90s. LOL! "people in bad mood"! Thanks for the laughter! You truly have a connection to Germany and us Germans.

Yeah, I dared to show myself more than I was doing throughout my stay here. Privacy is a keyword but ... you know, I think the Internet already "got me" anyways. :)

This vacation was mostly exciting because of the train traveling part. I did that almost 30 years ago.

Where have you been in Italy? How nice, you were there with your mother.

I have loads of pictures but don't know what else to do with them ... maybe just posting more?

Love, your friend Erika

Do post more. I would love to see them and I think others would, also. You always have interesting commentary with your photos.

Travel by train...I love to do that in Europe, not so much in the US. I'm not sure why. Maybe the trains aren't so nice, or maybe because on European trains I get to listen to chatter in unfamiliar languages and observe customs that are new to me. The train becomes an important part of the cultural experience.

In '68 I traveled with my sister's friend, who had free time. I was a student at NYU. We had very little money, so went on a true shoestring budget for the summer. It was a strange trip. We spent most of our time in Cadiz, Spain and visited Rome only briefly on our way home. The second trip, in '72, was quite different. I let my mother call the shots. In Italy, she wanted to see the Vatican and Venice, and so that's what we did. Trains everywhere, of course. I think that trip turned into a very unusual experience and may be worth a blog. I will save the remarkable parts (yes, remarkable, even historic) for the blog 😎 Thanks for the inspiration to write it!!

I'm looking forward to another travel blog from you, with more pictures.

I hope you are refreshed from your journey and ready for the more mundane challenges of everyday life.
Love,
Your NY friend,
AG

Oh, yeah, do that. I am glad that you are thinking of writing about your journey with your mother. That interests me very much, all the more with the history behind it. When you made your journeys, I wasn't even in the world or two years old :) Unimaginable!

I picked out some more photos, but I don't know what to write about them yet. Let's see.

Warm greetings and kisses!

Actually, I would have upvoted your great article, but it's already too old so that I decided to reward one of your comments instead. :)

Oh, that got me by surprise! Thank you very much!! Glad, that you liked it. :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82