Even more reasons to visit Mauritius

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Mauritius is an island country, about 3 times the size of Singapore that lies along the far South Eastern coast of the African continent. It is well known for honeymoon holidays and water sports and provides a wide range of activities typical of a relaxing island getaway.

Mauritius 8.jpg

While I visited the island recently I got to also appreciate the beauty of the mountain ranges, the wilderness and sugar cane plantations and I thought that the country is probably host to really spectacular mountain sport events.

Mauritius 2.jpg

So I looked them up and came up with my top events in the next year that I would consider participating in:
• Mauritius Tour Beachcomber (mountain biking), 4 stage event, 180km in May
• Dodo Trail run with distances up to 50km early in July, starting at Le Morne Brabant
• Mauritius Marathon, road running in July, starting from Saint Felix Beach
• Ultra Trail Raidlight BeachComber in July, for the ultra-endurance athletes, distances from 10km to 100km
• Trail de la Liberté in August, distances up to 20km
• Ferney Trail Run, up to 50km in September, held at La Vallée de Ferney
• The Grit Colin Mayer Tour, 3 Stage mountain biking, about 180km in October
• Trail De Rodriguez, up to 50km in November 2018 in Topaz Bay
• The Southern Tropical Mountain Biking Challenge, 200km, 4 stages in November

Doing one of these events ahead of my beach holiday would have made my fantastic short getaway even more marvelous. The island is beautiful and I and provides many opportunities for those interested in accessing places off the beaten track.

Mauritius 7.jpg
Photo Cred: http://www.beachcomber-events.com/mtb/mauritius-tour-beachcomber

Sort:  

Very informative. My wife does every trail she can get her feet on.

Nice, would love to do one of the MTB races there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59