Maiden Voyage of the STEEM Mobile: Day 2 in Seaside, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

@amandarichards and I came to Seaside, Oregon on a whim to attend the Ghost Conference, which I documented yesterday. However there's too much to do and see in Seaside to cover in just one day! So we decided to make use of the Steem Mobile's killer feature: Transforming into a bed.

The campground we stayed the night at had full electrical and water hookups, so we were able to recharge the car while also powering this little portable oven from it. While we showered, the tiny oven cooked our breakfast: enchiladas with sun dried tomato chicken sausages.

The solar panels put 17% of a charge into the secondary battery (which we used for our laptops and heated blankets) while we showered. Then by the time we ate and were ready to leave, it was up to 22%:

It attracted a lot of condensation though. The heat from charging I assume. Still, this was a successful practical test of many pieces of gear I bought over the past year, confirming that they really do the job.

The sunny morning gave way to a grey, dreary afternoon. Mainstreet of Seaside has all manner of quirky little shops catering to tourists. Exotic dried meat shops, an attraction full of upside down rooms to take selfies in, that sort of thing.

Also a massive resort we'd later tour. Brace yourselves for that. It did wind up being worth our time in the end. Check out all the little white ice cream and burger shops long the ground floor.

There was an indoor carousel! Naturally indoors, as the weather here is only rarely sunny and warm. It's part of a complex that's basically an indoor boardwalk with all the sorts of shops and cafes you'd expect on a boardwalk.

We found a tchotchke shop with various metal welded robot statues, a cyborg skull, and a skull made out of naked bitches. The perfect conversation piece for polite company.

We then voluntarily consented to a time share tour. Yes, I know. We felt dirty the entire time but they promised us $100 in coupons for local restaurants. It was grueling, though the tour guide was very sweet and personable. Her job was still to get us to sign something we had no intention to.

They showed us one of their nicest rooms. The view was incredible. I mean if you want to creep on swimmers. Which I do. Haha, look at them down there like little insects at my feet. I stand in judgement of you, little swimming people.

Beautiful view of the beach too. The weather gradually improved, tempting us to go outside. Nice try nature, we're wise to your tricks. After the tour was a pushy sit down meeting where they showed us various numbers on paper. It was boring to me because I've already seen every number.

Here it is, our precious coupon treasure! $100 worth of crab, lobster and fish which we will avail ourselves of later, at dinner. I'm actually sitting in a seaside cafe writing this now, so the day's not even over yet. It's been one of the more memorable trips we've so far taken.

Though, that might be in large part because we slept in a transforming electric car that cooked our breakfast. This town does have a lot to recommend it, and there's going to be one or two more articles to come about the local attractions we visited in the coming days.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

You are living my dream, traveling through your country, knowing beautiful places and being paid for it, what else can you ask for!

I get jealous :(

i hope to see my self having such things under my grab.... hopefully

Wow,The way people are dreaming, the way you are being prepared.Such a amazing place and the car is very cool 😇 @alexbeyman

Honestly it looks like you went back in time, I think it was those sausages and enchiladas creating a chemical reaction that somehow activated the time traveling function the Car obtained from all the added techno-gear.

U5dtnfk584ZpGukhZfW85ykQT6ghuri_1680x8400.jpeg

solar energi for charge and cooking. good idea. energy saving. why not use inverter?.

I do use inverter but only for items which need 110 volt power. For anything I can run from 12 volt power it is more efficient to not have an inverter in between the battery and the appliance, because that's one less energy conversion step, which means less energy lost.

I stand in judgement of you, little swimming people.

I imagine you saying that.
Sounds like a dream car actually. Beds oven...
If only it was equipped with a fireplace as well:P
I really like those trips you make. Doesn’t it make you feel alive?

It does. There are small inconveniences and harships but it makes me remember it in retrospect as an adventure. :3

I really love the steem mobile! Even just the name puts a smile on my face :) You should pit some cool stickers on the mobile and spread the word on steemit while you cruise the country! Thanks for sharing your adventure, its very entertaining to read!

Thank you for your kind words. Amanda is keen to travel so I'm sure there will be more articles of this type.

Cool, looking forward to the next one! Thanks!

LoL I remember my brother telling me about this time share ordeal he had to sit through at some Mexican resort. I think they tried to get everyone drunk and then start with the high pressure tactics. I wish I could remember all the details but it was funny and my brother ended up getting an unopened bottle of tequila out of it!

I also love making trips with minimum resources :) my little electric car, a camping tent and a gas stove and here we go!

You gotta tell me where you got that secondary battery, though. I usually use the car's inverter to power the 12v battery and I charge stuff that way... But solar power, that's much more interesting...

Thanks! It's a bit pricy but for it's great for powering stuff at night (heated blankets... what a wonderful idea, man)!

Hakuna Matata, you travel so much these days. I'm jealous with a pure jealousy of a man who wants to travel too.
You two really know how to spend a good time.

We could bring you along if you will fit into the roof top storage container.

Hahaha, I can fit in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85